Month: February 2019

Blog Tour: An Impossible Thing Called Love

Today I will be sharing an extract for my spot on the blog tour for the novel An Impossible Thing Called Love by Belinda Missen. This one is available now.  There is also an international giveaway going on!

Book Description:

Don’t miss the new delightfully uplifting book from the author of A Recipe for Disaster!

A second chance at love…

When globe-trotting Emmy first fell for first-aider William on a freezing New Year’s Eve, she really believed that their love would go the distance.

But when she returns to Australia, her letters start to go unanswered and her emails bounce back unread, Emmy decides it’s time to pick up the pieces of her broken heart and start afresh in London.

So she’s shocked when William walks in on her very first day at her new job! Even worse, he’s hotter than ever. But why did he disappear for so long? What has he been hiding? And could this really be their second chance at falling in love…?

Perfect for fans of Carole Mathews, Mhairi McFarlane and Carrie Hope Fletcher.

Purchase Links:
Paperback: http://bit.ly/2wCYmKS
Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2MHzAEj
Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/2otrlxi
Amazon AU: https://amzn.to/2Pk2jvQ
Book Depository: http://bit.ly/2wCYmKS
Kobo: http://bit.ly/2BXdvv3
iTunes: https://apple.co/2Ptnsnu


Hi Everyone – so this piece here is the lead up to William and Emmy meeting for the first time. Emmy is taking part in the torch parade of Hogmanay, and William is lucky enough to be working first aide for the night. This scene has changed dramatically over the life of the book and, in the end, this seemed like a fitting, if not painful meet-cute for them. I feel like it tells us a bit about each of them as people, without having to put it into words:

Grabbing Josh, I muttered something about men and women still being able to be friends in this day and age without having to get naked with each other. I think I might have been louder than expected because, before I could so much as clutch at Josh’s jacket, they were jostling again. A rustle of fabric, a flash of dancing footsteps, and I felt a blunt sting across my face. All at once, everything was dark and far too bright, like a child was flickering a light switch. My sinuses were connected to a trip switch in my heart, and each beat offered a sulphuric burn. I was disoriented and, as my eyes watered, I took a wobbly seat on the ground. It may have been cold and wet, but it was better than swaying about.

I knew how these moments played out, I’d seen it a million times before when volunteering with the ambulance. Music concerts were especially healthy for face to fist experiences. Heather was screaming at someone, probably Josh, who was apologising profusely. Her voice was soon joined by the polyester swish of a hi-vis bomber jacket. I blinked away tears, hoping to get a proper look at the face that swam in my vision.

Touching my nose only made my face burn and eyes water all over again. Through damp eyes, he looked like a watercolour painting. Street lights shimmered in one corner, and his hair a wispy flame-red cloud with sideburns that reached down and hugged his face. His blurred lopsided smile was the most beautiful thing I’d seen all night. As he came into focus, so did Josh over his shoulder.

‘Oh, Em, I am … fuck … so sorry. Are you okay?’

Heather slapped at him again. ‘What do you think, idiot?’

She barely touched five-feet-tall in a line-up. Despite that, she was full of energy and, right now, looked like a mother about to grab at naughty earlobes. Josh inched away from her and, in all this, it occurred to me just how many people were happy to watch what was happening, to whisper among themselves instead of help. I lolled about, steadying myself with a palm on the cold wet asphalt. Dropping on his haunches, the first-aider snapped his fingers in front of me.

‘You okay?’ he asked. ‘Is there any blood?’

I frowned, confused. ‘Huh?’

‘Are you bleeding?’ He flashed a torchlight across my eyes and offered a fistful of tissues.

Squinting away from the brightness, I dabbed at my eyes. Anything near my nose made me want to vomit, but there was a small trickle of blood. ‘Thank you.’

‘At least it’s not broken,’ we said in unison.

His mouth twitched, a smile that threatened to widen as he offered me a cold pack. Under the light, his eyes were, in one moment, bottle-green. The next, they were ocean blue. ‘What makes you say that?’

‘It’s not all bent up and I can still breathe.’ Through squinting eyes, I waggled a finger at his jacket, complete with reflective patches and a blank space for a name badge. ‘It looks just as good on you as it does on me.’  


About the Author:

Belinda Missen is an award-winning and best-selling author, screenwriter, and freelance writer from Geelong, Australia. She lives with her car-obsessed, but wonderful husband, two loopy cats, and more books than she cares to count.

In late 2017, Belinda signed a six-book contract with HQDigitalUK (HarperCollins). A Recipe for Disaster was released in August 2018. An Impossible Thing Called Love appeared by magic in November 2018.

Contact Belinda:
Website
Twitter @belinda_missen
Instagram @belinda_missen

**International Giveaway**

Win a paperback copy of An Impossible Thing Called Love

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box above.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

Sometimes I Lie

Author: Alice Feeney
Published: March 23, 2017
387 pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 5 stars

Book Description:

My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me:
1. I’m in a coma.
2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore.
3. Sometimes I lie.

Amber wakes up in a hospital. She can’t move. She can’t speak. She can’t open her eyes. She can hear everyone around her, but they have no idea. Amber doesn’t remember what happened, but she has a suspicion her husband had something to do with it. Alternating between her paralyzed present, the week before her accident, and a series of childhood diaries from twenty years ago, this brilliant psychological thriller asks: Is something really a lie if you believe it’s the truth?

Kim’s Review:

Whoa. This book was nuts! I found it cheap at Ollie’s and I love the cover. I picked it up for a quick read and it was indeed quick, but whoa! I mean twists and turns and crazy spirals and surprises. Amber starting out in a coma was an interesting interpretation. I was fascinated and horrified all at the same time. All I could think was, “is that really what it’s like to be in a coma??” I almost went to the hospital to volunteer to read to coma patients! And it all started from page one! I don’t really want to say much about this book, because I don’t want to give anything away! All I can say is that I loved it and I might just have to read it again! Ok, I will say that I liked this book better than Girl on a Train. Amber is a much stronger protagonist than that chick was. Definitely a good book for those who like psychological thrillers . . . and believe me, it’s thrilling!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

First Line Friday #98

Today’s First Line Friday is a short YA novel by Lucy V Hay. It is book one in the Intersection series. 

First, the line to show it worked. Then, a second one: faint, but very definitely there. Oh my God.

Pregnant.

‘I’d literally had to try my hardest at everything I’d ever done before now … Study like mad for tests? Check. Take three separate auditions for the netball team? Check. It had even taken me about twenty goes to climb the rope ladder into our old tree house! But this? First time: score!’

On the eve of her eighteenth birthday, Lizzie finds herself pregnant: she’s literally days away from her exam results and university beckons around the corner.

The bright Lizzie has big plans, but can she have the life she wanted, with a baby in tow? What will her family and friends say? And what will the baby’s father choose to do … Stay out of it, or stand by her?

Proof Positive is powerful, pro-choice YA that is perfect for fans of John Green, Judy Blume and Sarah Dessen. Book 1 in the Intersection Series, a teenage character is presented with a dilemma and then ALL the potential ways the situation *might* work out. You, the reader, have the final say … What would YOU choose, in Lizzie’s place?

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]