Month: February 2019

Cover Reveal: A Little Hotel in Cornwall

Today I am helping in the cover reveal for A Little Hotel in Cornwall by Laura Briggs. Publication Day is March 30th.

Book Description:

Struggling American waitress and aspiring novelist Maisie Clark dreams of becoming a full-time writer — even though in real life she’s just lost her chance at an exclusive writer’s mentorship program that would give her novel its big break. Desperate, she decides to take a chance and ask her favourite writer, a celebrated but reclusive English novelist, to help her find a second chance. 

When she receives the author’s reply in an envelope with a Cornish postmark, Maisie decides not to take the writer’s half-hearted ‘no’ for an answer. With nothing to lose, she takes off for the author’s last known location, a beautiful hotel on Cornwall’s western coast. But when the hotel mistakes her for the latest applicant for a maid’s position, Maisie finds herself given an opportunity too good to lose … and a chance for a summer adventure far bigger than she ever imagined.

Surrounded by breathtaking Cornwall and working in an elegant hotel, Maisie’s world becomes one of secret identities, quirky friends, and unintentional mishaps — and despite reminders of past relationship disasters, a certain handsome, charming local resident Sidney Daniels has her conflicted about her heart’s desires, too. 

Will Maisie find the chance she’s been waiting for — and a possible new romance — in her perfect Cornish summer?

 

 

 

What does the cover look like?????? Keep scrolling to find out!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Almost there!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here it is:

Pre-order A Little Hotel in Cornwall here.

About the Author:

Laura Briggs is the author of several chick lit and romance stories, including the Top 100 Amazon UK seller ‘A Wedding in Cornwall’. She has a fondness for vintage style dresses (especially ones with polka dots), and reads everything from Jane Austen to modern day mysteries. When she’s not writing, she enjoys spending time with family, caring for her pets, going to movies and plays, and trying new restaurants.

Contact Laura:
Twitter
@PaperDollWrites

Oh My Goth

Author: Gena Showalter
Published: July 4, 2006
256 Pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

A fiercely individualist Goth girl wakes up to discover that the whole world has gone Goth and she’s actually — gag — popular.

Jade Leigh is a nonconformist who values individuality above all else. She has a small group of like-minded Goth friends who wear black, dabble in the dark arts, and thrive outside the norm. They’re considered the “freaks” of their high school. But when Jade’s smart mouth lands her in trouble — again — her principal decides to teach her a lesson she’ll never forget.

Taken to a remote location where she is strapped down and sedated, Jade wakes up in an alternate universe where she rules the school. But her best friends won’t talk to her, and the people she used to hate are all Goth. Only Clarik, the mysterious new boy in town, operates outside all the cliques. And only Mercedes, the Barbie clone Jade loathes, believes that Jade’s stuck in a virtual reality game — because she’s stuck there, too, now living the life of a “freak.” Together, they realize they might never get back to reality…and that even if they do, things might never be the same.

Kim’s Review:

This book was great! I have read some of Showalter’s adult romance stuff and I really enjoyed them. Oh My Goth sounded interesting, so I went for it. The cover is gorgeous! We are going to have an amazing 2019 Most Gorgeous Cover Tournament! I’ve never been goth, but I have been different and weird. My high school years were full of trying to fit in and be popular and failing miserably at it. There’s a reason that I think teenagers are idiots, because I used to be an idiot teenager, the worst kind! If I could redo my high school years, 1. I wouldn’t, and 2. I would embrace my weirdness and celebrate it.

Jade is different, but she’s damaged. I felt incredibly sorry for her. She’s one of the very rare ones that didn’t have me saying, “oh grow up already! You’re not the only one who has suffered!” The whole point of the book was her learning that her coping mechanisms were indeed hurting others. I guess the difference in this book is that the idiot teen actually learns her lesson and becomes more mature. Plus, the idea of “outcast” becoming popular hurt my brain. I’d like to think that being unique is what makes us weirdos interesting, so to be popular is diametrically opposed to who we are. Shoutout to Big Bang Theory for making “nerdiness” popular and bringing in all the posers!!

But I really liked this book and considering the hardcore culture of goths, it was surprisingly clean! I would absolutely let younger teens read it and hopefully they can learn good things from it! I guess my only issue with this book is that the philosophizing and learning gets a little repetitive. A couple of places start to feel a little like a morality lecture, but those are few and far between. Overall, an excellent and emotional read!!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

Blog Tour: An Impossible Thing Called Love

Today I will be sharing an extract for my spot on the blog tour for the novel An Impossible Thing Called Love by Belinda Missen. This one is available now.  There is also an international giveaway going on!

Book Description:

Don’t miss the new delightfully uplifting book from the author of A Recipe for Disaster!

A second chance at love…

When globe-trotting Emmy first fell for first-aider William on a freezing New Year’s Eve, she really believed that their love would go the distance.

But when she returns to Australia, her letters start to go unanswered and her emails bounce back unread, Emmy decides it’s time to pick up the pieces of her broken heart and start afresh in London.

So she’s shocked when William walks in on her very first day at her new job! Even worse, he’s hotter than ever. But why did he disappear for so long? What has he been hiding? And could this really be their second chance at falling in love…?

Perfect for fans of Carole Mathews, Mhairi McFarlane and Carrie Hope Fletcher.

Purchase Links:
Paperback: http://bit.ly/2wCYmKS
Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2MHzAEj
Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/2otrlxi
Amazon AU: https://amzn.to/2Pk2jvQ
Book Depository: http://bit.ly/2wCYmKS
Kobo: http://bit.ly/2BXdvv3
iTunes: https://apple.co/2Ptnsnu


Hi Everyone – so this piece here is the lead up to William and Emmy meeting for the first time. Emmy is taking part in the torch parade of Hogmanay, and William is lucky enough to be working first aide for the night. This scene has changed dramatically over the life of the book and, in the end, this seemed like a fitting, if not painful meet-cute for them. I feel like it tells us a bit about each of them as people, without having to put it into words:

Grabbing Josh, I muttered something about men and women still being able to be friends in this day and age without having to get naked with each other. I think I might have been louder than expected because, before I could so much as clutch at Josh’s jacket, they were jostling again. A rustle of fabric, a flash of dancing footsteps, and I felt a blunt sting across my face. All at once, everything was dark and far too bright, like a child was flickering a light switch. My sinuses were connected to a trip switch in my heart, and each beat offered a sulphuric burn. I was disoriented and, as my eyes watered, I took a wobbly seat on the ground. It may have been cold and wet, but it was better than swaying about.

I knew how these moments played out, I’d seen it a million times before when volunteering with the ambulance. Music concerts were especially healthy for face to fist experiences. Heather was screaming at someone, probably Josh, who was apologising profusely. Her voice was soon joined by the polyester swish of a hi-vis bomber jacket. I blinked away tears, hoping to get a proper look at the face that swam in my vision.

Touching my nose only made my face burn and eyes water all over again. Through damp eyes, he looked like a watercolour painting. Street lights shimmered in one corner, and his hair a wispy flame-red cloud with sideburns that reached down and hugged his face. His blurred lopsided smile was the most beautiful thing I’d seen all night. As he came into focus, so did Josh over his shoulder.

‘Oh, Em, I am … fuck … so sorry. Are you okay?’

Heather slapped at him again. ‘What do you think, idiot?’

She barely touched five-feet-tall in a line-up. Despite that, she was full of energy and, right now, looked like a mother about to grab at naughty earlobes. Josh inched away from her and, in all this, it occurred to me just how many people were happy to watch what was happening, to whisper among themselves instead of help. I lolled about, steadying myself with a palm on the cold wet asphalt. Dropping on his haunches, the first-aider snapped his fingers in front of me.

‘You okay?’ he asked. ‘Is there any blood?’

I frowned, confused. ‘Huh?’

‘Are you bleeding?’ He flashed a torchlight across my eyes and offered a fistful of tissues.

Squinting away from the brightness, I dabbed at my eyes. Anything near my nose made me want to vomit, but there was a small trickle of blood. ‘Thank you.’

‘At least it’s not broken,’ we said in unison.

His mouth twitched, a smile that threatened to widen as he offered me a cold pack. Under the light, his eyes were, in one moment, bottle-green. The next, they were ocean blue. ‘What makes you say that?’

‘It’s not all bent up and I can still breathe.’ Through squinting eyes, I waggled a finger at his jacket, complete with reflective patches and a blank space for a name badge. ‘It looks just as good on you as it does on me.’  


About the Author:

Belinda Missen is an award-winning and best-selling author, screenwriter, and freelance writer from Geelong, Australia. She lives with her car-obsessed, but wonderful husband, two loopy cats, and more books than she cares to count.

In late 2017, Belinda signed a six-book contract with HQDigitalUK (HarperCollins). A Recipe for Disaster was released in August 2018. An Impossible Thing Called Love appeared by magic in November 2018.

Contact Belinda:
Website
Twitter @belinda_missen
Instagram @belinda_missen

**International Giveaway**

Win a paperback copy of An Impossible Thing Called Love

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box above.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

[Top]