Audiobook Review: Love Finds You by Ivy Alexander

Love Finds You
Series: Helena’s Grove #1
Author: Ivy Alexander

Narrator: Jennifer Groberg
Originally Published: July 22, 2013
Published on Audio: October 5, 2022
Audiobook: 3 hours 41 minutes

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read:  April 13-16, 2023
Jessica’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

Jennifer Berkley is a straightforward, ambitious, soon-to-be lawyer in the fast, driven city of New York. She doesn’t have the patience or time to deal with people who can’t or won’t give her what she wants. When her father asks her to visit her aunt in Ohio as her last dying wish, Jen is immediately resistant, but reconsiders when her father makes her an offer she can’t refuse.

Jen finds Ohio a much different pace than New York, and is beginning to enjoy country life when she meets Zack LaFaye, a good-looking, helpful man who is adored by her aunt. Each encounter with him leaves Jen flustered and annoyed. The question is glaring: does she have feelings for him, or does she hate him so much that she can’t decide?

Amidst a country backdrop, Jen discovers feelings and experiences no city girl is prepared for. As the summer unfolds, she finds herself questioning everything. Using her skill and training as a lawyer, Jen uncovers a trail of deceit she didn’t see coming. With a vengeance, she is determined to find out the truth. Someone is lying to her, but who?

Jessica’s Review:

This is a series I read back in 2015 and enjoyed, but honestly don’t remember much about it.  I had the opportunity to listen to the series since it is new in audio from the author, which I appreciate very much!

Love Finds You is the first in the Helena’s Grove series and Jen is our main character.  She is from New York and a lawyer in her father’s law firm.  She is all work and no play for her and her employees. We see from the beginning how tough she is (I wouldn’t want to work for her!).

Her father tells her that her Aunt Gabby is sick and has requested to see her as her dying wish. Jen hasn’t seen her since she was five, but her father gives her the opportunity of a lifetime: Spend 3 months in Ohio and when you come back you will be partner at 25 years old.  Jen goes for it.

And thus begins the story and turning point for Jen. This book is like a typical Hallmark movie: A tough, workaholic city girl goes to the country for one reason and falls for the town and people there. While there she learns who she really is and becomes a new person.  And of course there is a guy! There’s always a guy! LOL

There are a few ‘twists’ that comes along for a romance story such as this. There is of course the typical scene of the city girl’s outfit getting ruined from the mud, and or course Jen doesn’t know what branding is…. Uh oh! 

Love Finds You is a sweet, clean, and entertaining read that can be a refresher from all of those thrillers I read. You know how it is going to end from the beginning, why else would you pick it up (or watch that Hallmark romance movie?) Sometime you just need something that is easy to read, is fun and light-hearted. It has THE line that is getting all the attention in social media groups these days: Some form of: She released a breath she didn’t realize she was holding. When I heard that I just about died laughing! It’s a line I am on the lookout for in books now and it seems to be in most of them!

The narrator is Jennifer Groberg and she did a good job with her narration. She portrayed Jen very well. You could sense the change in Jen’s character over the course of the novel. 

Many thanks to the author Ivy Alexander for sending me an audio copy to listen to! I am happy to be returning to Helena’s Grove!

Purchase Links: (It’s FREE on Kindle!)
Amazon US
Amazon UK