Category: First Line Friday

First Line Friday #100

Today’s First Line Friday is from one of our “Go to” authors: MKA (Mary Kay Andrews)! Both Kim and I love her and will read just about anything she writes!

Mary Bliss McGowan and Katharine Weidman had reached a point in the evening from whence there was no return. They had half a bottle of Tanqueray. They had limes. Plenty of ice. Plenty of time.

New York Times bestselling author Mary Kay Andrews delivers another treasure of a comic novel. Little Bitty Lies is a tantalizing tale about an abandoned Atlanta housewife and mother who tells one tiny white lie that sets her world spiraling outrageously out of control. This winning and wonderful romp focuses on about all the important things in life: marriage and divorce, mothers and daughters, friendship and betrayal. Throw in small town secrets, one woman’s lifelong quest for home, and the perfect chicken salad recipe, and you have an ideal escape for fans of Fannie Flagg, Jennifer Crusie, Adriana Trigiani, Emily Giffin, and the Sweet Potato Queens. No lie!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

First Line Friday #99

Today’s First Line Friday is a sci-fi novel that makes you wonder if society is heading this way.  After-all, all science fiction is fiction until it becomes Science FACT…..

The greatest scientific discovery of the twenty-first century happened on a warm summer day in June.

The world runs on ARCs. Altered Reality Chips. Small implants behind the left ear that allow people to experience anything they could ever imagine. The network controls everything, from traffic, to food production, to law enforcement. Some proclaim it a Golden Age of humanity. Others have begun to see the cracks. Few realize that behind it all, living within every brain and able to control all aspects of society, there exists a being with an agenda all his own: the singularity called Adam, who believes he is God.

Jimmy Mahoney’s brain can’t accept an ARC. Not since his football injury from the days when the league was still offline. “ARC-incompatible” is what the doctors told him. Worse than being blind and deaf, he is a man struggling to cling to what’s left of a society that he is no longer a part of. His wife spends twenty-three hours a day online, only coming off when her chip forcibly disconnects her so she can eat. Others are worse. Many have died, unwilling or unable to log off to take care of even their most basic needs.

After being unwittingly recruited by a rogue singularity to play a role in a war that he doesn’t understand, Jimmy learns the truth about Adam and is thrown into a life-and-death struggle against the most powerful mathematical mind the world has ever known. But what can one man do against a being that exists everywhere and holds limitless power? How can one man, unable to even get online, find a way to save his wife, and the entire human race, from destruction?

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

First Line Friday #98

Today’s First Line Friday is a short YA novel by Lucy V Hay. It is book one in the Intersection series. 

First, the line to show it worked. Then, a second one: faint, but very definitely there. Oh my God.

Pregnant.

‘I’d literally had to try my hardest at everything I’d ever done before now … Study like mad for tests? Check. Take three separate auditions for the netball team? Check. It had even taken me about twenty goes to climb the rope ladder into our old tree house! But this? First time: score!’

On the eve of her eighteenth birthday, Lizzie finds herself pregnant: she’s literally days away from her exam results and university beckons around the corner.

The bright Lizzie has big plans, but can she have the life she wanted, with a baby in tow? What will her family and friends say? And what will the baby’s father choose to do … Stay out of it, or stand by her?

Proof Positive is powerful, pro-choice YA that is perfect for fans of John Green, Judy Blume and Sarah Dessen. Book 1 in the Intersection Series, a teenage character is presented with a dilemma and then ALL the potential ways the situation *might* work out. You, the reader, have the final say … What would YOU choose, in Lizzie’s place?

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]