Category: Review

The Lost for Words Bookshop


Author: Stephanie Butland
To Be Published: (Tomorrow) June 19, 2018
368 pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: June 10-17, 2018
Jessica’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:
Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never, ever show you.

Into her hiding place—the bookstore where she works – come a poet, a lover, and three suspicious deliveries.

Someone has found out about her mysterious past. Will Loveday survive her own heartbreaking secrets?

The Lost for Words Bookshop is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending novel, perfect for fans of The Storied Life of AJ Fikry and The Little Paris Bookshop.

Jessica’s Review:
If you are a book lover in any way and/or an introvert this will be the book for you! The Lost for Words Bookshop is a character driven story and Loveday is our protagonist. She would rather spend time with books than people, so her job at the bookstore is perfect: In fact she has worked there for 10 years. She loves books so much she has tattooed first lines of various books on her body. She is a likeable nonconformist with a dark past that we slowly discover as the novel progresses. I also really liked Archie, the owner. Nathan is also likeable as well, he is a magician and knows all the tricks!

Don’t let the cover fool you, this book is not a lighthearted read. It has dark undertones dealing with Loveday’s past and you will experience a range of emotions while reading.

The mysteries of Loveday’s past and certain deliveries kept you wondering where the story was going to go. I really wanted to find out the answers! Loveday is our narrator and we see the story between the past and present, but it is clear and not confusing.

This was a highly enjoyable read and I recommend it, especially for the bibliophiles out there!
Thank you St. Martin’s Press for my copy: It was a pleasure to read and review.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US (Pre-order)
Amazon UK (already published in the UK)

Blog Tour: Chilling Tales of the Unexpected

Today I am one of three stops on this final day of the blog tour for Chilling Tales of the Unexpected by Ann Girdharry. It is a collection of four short stories that will chill you!

Book Description:

Four twisty, short reads.
Addictive works of suspense,
That will leave you breathless and give you goose bumps…

Trading with Death
What sacrifice might we make for those we love? In the face of death, will we be selfish or selfless?

Tell Me a Secret
Deceit, lies and secrets – how well do we know those close to us?

Sweet Justice 
We follow Tess as she confronts the dark side…

Written on the Apple Tree 
A moment from a past life, a possession, or a simple meeting between strangers?

Chilling Tales of the Unexpected
Author:
Ann Girdharry
Published: May 21, 2018

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: June 1-6, 2018
Jessica’s Rating: 3.5 stars

Jessica’s Review:

These are four short stories that add up to quick reading.  Each story offers insights into sacrifice, lust, and regret among other feelings. If you like dark short stories then you should pick this one up. Being these are short stories it is hard to say much without giving anything away, but I will give ‘mini-reviews’ on each short story:

Trading with Death
There isn’t much to say other than what the description says.  This was a good one!

Tell Me a Secret
This one was also good! I didn’t know where it was heading had no idea how it was going to end!  I loved it.

Sweet Justice
This one disturbed me on several levels.  Wow…..

Written on the Apple Tree
I enjoyed this one immensely. I would really like for Girdharry to expand it!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK
**More  purchase links available via Goodreads

About the Author:

Born and educated in the UK, Ann Girdharry is a trained psychotherapist and has worked as a manager in the not-for-profit sector for many years.

Today she lives in Montpellier, France with her husband and two children.

She writes suspense and thrillers, is a book reviewer and occasionally blogs for the Huffington Post UK. Her crime thriller novel, GOOD GIRL BAD GIRL, was an Eric Hoffer Book Award Finalist 2017. Two of her thrillers are READERS’ FAVOURITE Five Star Books.

Contact Ann:
Facebook
Twitter @GirdharryAnn
Goodreads
Bookbub

 

 

 

[Top]

Ivan: The Remarkable True Story of the Shopping Mall Gorilla

Author: Katherine Applegate
Illustrator: G. Brian Karas
Published: October 7, 2014
40 pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Date Read: June 10, 2018
Jessica’s Rating: 5 stars

Book Description:

In a spare, powerful text and evocative illustrations, the Newbery medalist Katherine Applegate and the artist G. Brian Karas present the extraordinary real story of a special gorilla.

Captured as a baby, Ivan was brought to a Tacoma, Washington, mall to attract shoppers. Gradually, public pressure built until a better way of life for Ivan was found at Zoo Atlanta. From the Congo to America, and from a local business attraction to a national symbol of animal welfare, Ivan the Shopping Mall Gorilla traveled an astonishing distance in miles and in impact.

This is his true story and includes photographs of Ivan.

Jessica’s Review:

This is the sad, but true story of Ivan the gorilla. It has a happy ending and is aimed for younger children.  Ivan was taken away from his family as a baby in the Congo and grew up in Tacoma, Washington. He became a shopping mall spectacle to attract shoppers. He lived in a cage at the shopping mall for 27 years!

Finally, after protests Ivan was sent to Zoo Atlanta where he lived the rest of his life. He lived to age 50. In the wild gorillas live into their 30s. Ivan passed away in 2012.

I am from Georgia but never really knew Ivan’s story: Now I want to learn more about him.  This children’s book is a great introduction to Ivan and his life before going to Zoo Atlanta. The illustrations do a good job of helping to tell Ivan’s story.

There is an ‘About Ivan’ section in the back that gives basic information on his life and includes pictures.

To find out more about Ivan, Zoo Atlanta has a section of their website dedicated to him.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

 

[Top]