Category: Site News

Bookies Annual Authorber Fest! #AuthorberFest

I am so excited about October finally being here come tomorrow! In addition to it finally being fall and hopefully COOLER temperatures soon, we get Halloween and over at the Bookies Facebook Page (where I am one of the admins) we have our annual Authorber Fest!  We use the hashtag: #AuthorberFest

What is Authorber Fest? Every day in October a different author ‘takes over’ the Bookies page! This is where we can learn about the author and their book(s) that have written. They all plan all kinds of goodies to share, which COULD include giveaways!  I have worked with several of these authors and look forward to them taking over the page!  I will try and be there as often as possible!

Here is the lineup:

The link for Bookies is here.

Times authors will take over the page will be announced daily. There are giveaways going on! Be sure to check out Bookies all through October and discover a ‘new to you’ favorite author! 

I thought I would share what I have done with some of these authors. It can range from just a review to an author spotlight or interview. The date they are taking over Bookies is next to their name:

 Leah DeCesare (10/01)

One year celebration of her novel Forks Knifes, and Spoons: http://jessicasreadingroom.com/its-a-forks-knifes-and-spoons-1-year-celebration/

EM Bosso (10/07)

Review of SMAFU: http://jessicasreadingroom.com/smafu/

JT Lawrence (10/09)

Review of The Underachieving Ovary:  http://jessicasreadingroom.com/the-underachieving-ovary/

Kim and I both reviewed Sticky Fingers: http://jessicasreadingroom.com/short-story-collection-double-review-sticky-fingers/

Wendy Brant (10/14)

Review of Zenn Diagram: http://jessicasreadingroom.com/zenn-diagram/

Interview: http://jessicasreadingroom.com/a-conversation-with-wendy-brant/

Taylor Saville (10/16)

Author Spotlight which included Kim’s review of Jagged Mind: http://jessicasreadingroom.com/author-spotlight-taylor-saville/

MR Pritchard (10/23)

Short Story review of Asteroid Riders: http://jessicasreadingroom.com/short-story-review-asteroid-riders/

Flash Story review of The Safest City on Earth: http://jessicasreadingroom.com/flash-stories/

Dan Klefstad (10/24)

Short Story reviews:

The Caretaker: http://jessicasreadingroom.com/the-caretaker/

Solstice: http://jessicasreadingroom.com/solstice-another-short-story-by-dan-klefstad/

Interview: http://jessicasreadingroom.com/a-conversation-with-dan-klefstad/

**Dan will be back at Jessica’s Reading Room in October with reviews of his Fiona short stories that are on a podcast!**

Jennifer Gilmour (10/29)

Review of Isolation Junction:  http://jessicasreadingroom.com/isolation-junction-review-and-giveaway/

Review of Clipped Wings: http://jessicasreadingroom.com/blog-tour-clipped-wings/

Interview: http://jessicasreadingroom.com/a-conversation-with-jennifer-gilmour/

Perfect Imperfections is Currently FREE for Kindle on ALL Amazon Sites!!!

If you have followed this site for any amount of time, then you know I have mentioned Perfect Imperfections by Taryn Leigh several times and for a few days it is FREE for Amazon Kindle on ALL Amazon sites!!

It was one of my top 10 reads last year. It has a lot of personal meaning to many people for different reasons, myself included. If you have been meaning to get your copy- you can NOW!!!

Book Description:

Sarah Lewis desires nothing more than to begin again after a failed marriage and a tragedy so terrifying, it forces her to leave her life in London to stay with her best friend a world apart in South Africa.

Despite immediate success in her business, she struggles to understand who she really is and where she belongs in the world. So begins a journey of discovery as Sarah re-unites with Katy in the land where she was born, where the air is lavender scented, and weekends are spent cycling on the beach.

Until the day when she has to return to London to face the ghosts of her past and confront a situation that has grown more complicated in her absence.

Perfect Imperfections is an intriguing tale which hints at wrongdoings and deceit without giving too much away. The author cleverly weaves a tale around fragile yet strong Sarah as she tries to reconcile her past with her future, engaging the reader to the point where we simply want the best for her and for happiness finally to come her way.

This giraffe has significance in Perfect Imperfections AND for me as well!  What is it? You must read Perfect Imperfections to find out!

My review for Perfect Imperfections is here.

I also interviewed Taryn here.

**I am looking  forward to what Taryn brings us next!!!

Buy Perfect Imperfections NOW! Remember it is Currently FREE for Kindle!! 
Amazon US

Amazon UK

Contact Taryn:
Twitter: tarynleighbook
Instagram: @tarynleighbooks

 

 

[Top]

An Excerpt from Girl Gone Ghost by Dawn Husted

Today I am helping spread the word about a new release from Dawn Husted: Girl Gone Ghost! I will be sharing an excerpt from Chapter One. Publication Day was July 9th.

For fans of We Were Liars and Pretty Little Liars comes this standalone novel. If you like gripping suspense, sizzling chemistry, and dark secrets, then you’ll love Dawn Husted’s new release, Girl Gone Ghost, available now!

Book Description:

A cheerleader with a reputation. A ghost who wants justice. Two lives bound together until the killer is found.

Sonora’s popularity means more to her than a new Michael Kors purse. With Fall Fling around the corner, she’s on the lookout for the perfect gown. But a ghost has different plans.

When her best friend’s body floats ashore, Sonora is haunted by the corpse-like spirit.  The incessant ghost refuses to leave Sonora alone. She must risk death and sanity to find her friend’s killer. If Sonora isn’t careful, she’ll be the next victim.

Girl Gone Ghost is a standalone novel. If you like gripping suspense, sizzling chemistry, and dark secrets, then you’ll love Dawn Husted’s mystery, thriller romance.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK


Excerpt from Chapter One:Yes, Brenham—a town in the birthplace of Texas—had a serial killer. My best friend’s body was discovered nine weeks ago.

Holding Magnolia’s obituary in my hand, I couldn’t peel my eyes away from her heart-shaped face. My eyes watered. The newspaper clipping encompassed her mesmerizing smile and all the years we spent growing up together. Why did she have to die? I kicked my shiny green pompoms into the corner of my room. One of my cheerleading medals fell off the bedroom wall, onto Kaylee’s fluffy black and white tail. My border collie growled and her back stiffened, hair raising along her spine.

“They’re only pompoms,” I muttered as I bent to pick up the medal. What’s the matter? The sea green ribbon attached to the medal had formed a perfect M on the carpet. Bending over, a chill wafted over my back and up my neck. The air conditioning hummed on above my head.

Kaylee showed her teeth at the corner. I waved my hand at her. “Stop it. Sit. What’s gotten into you?” I hung the gold medal back on the nail next to dozens of others. My fingers had crinkled the top edge of the clipping. Dang it.

I grabbed my copy of East of Eden off my desk and stuck the clipping between the pages to flatten it again—and put the obit away one last time. A familiar pang squeezed my chest, and I wiped a tear from my cheek with the back of my hand. I couldn’t focus on Magnolia anymore. I needed to let her go. She was gone and she wasn’t coming back. Opening my dresser drawer, I slid the novel inside. It rested beside my half of our friendship necklace, the same one I had removed two days after her death.

My phone buzzed with a text from my boyfriend, Chris Jenkins. Just pulled up.

In the reflection of the dresser mirror, an outline of our high school’s mascot stared at me with wide-eyes and a green, roaring mouth. I remembered the day Magnolia helped me place the cub sticker on the wall—the same day we made the cheerleading squad our freshman year, three years ago. Closing the drawer, I breathed the memory of Magnolia in and out for the last time.

The doorbell rang. I turned my light off and rushed out the bedroom to let Chris inside. We were having dinner tonight—like it was another normal Saturday night with my family.

Opening the front door, Chris walked in and winked. “Hey, babe.” His arms slid around my waist and squeezed. I laced my fingers through his. He smelled woodsy.


About the Author:

Dawn Husted grew up in central Texas, in Aggieland. She discovered her love of writing after graduating Texas A&M University. She enjoys writing urban fantasy, science fiction, romance, and paranormal suspense.

She lives with her wild husband, two kids, one stray cat, and an Australian shepherd.

Contact Dawn:
Website
Facebook
Twitter @TheDawnHusted
Newsletter Signup

 

 

[Top]