Tag: 4 stars

Graphic Novel Review: Son of Hitler

Son of Hitler
Authors:
Anthony Del Col
Geoff Moore
Illustrator: Jeff McComsey
Published: June 26, 2018
192 Pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

What if Adolf Hitler had a secret son no one knew about?

In the darkest days of World War II a female British spy handler discovers a rumor: that when Adolf Hitler was stationed in France during the First World War he fathered a child. Armed with stolen Nazi files, she secretly tracks down this son to recruit him for a mission to meet his biological father – and assassinate him.

But that may not be the end of the Hitler family saga…

A pulpy spy and alternative history thriller in the vein of Man in the High Castle, Zero Dark Thirty, Inglourious Basterds and the works of John Le Carre, this Image Comics graphic novel exploring one of the war’s greatest legends is by acclaimed writer Anthony Del Col (Assassin’s Creed, Kill Shakespeare), New York Times bestselling illustrator Jeff McComsey (FUBAR, Flutter) and newcomer Geoff Moore.

A story so wild it could only be true… maybe…

Kim’s Review:

To be fair, I’m not a big fan of graphic novels, and that’s really the only reason I’m giving this book 4 stars. The story and the artwork are excellent. Thankfully this “alternate history” falls closely in line with fact and not on its own ridiculous timeline. The characters are emotional and I found myself hoping that history did indeed have a different outcome. I really enjoyed this book and I wish it was available in novel form. I guarantee it would be 5 stars!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

Flower by Safira X

Flower
Author: Safira X
Published: December 5, 2019
47 Pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

He stops when he catches sight of the perfect girl. “Sky Winter”, her username reads. She has long, blonde waves that go down to her waist, bangs that stop just above her porcelain blue eyes, and rosy cheeks. Her cheeks are so round that you can’t even see her cheekbones.

‘Her skin must feel like a baby’s,’ he gushes.

He can’t keep his eyes off her lips. They look so soft and plushy. He can’t wait to taste them. Not to forget, she has the most defined hourglass waist he’s ever laid eyes on.

He clicks her image, bids $20,000 on her, and tells where and when he’d like to meet if she accepts the bid. It’s a foolish decision. He’s never bidden that high, but he can get his money back when it’s all over, like always. More than that, he has to have her…

Kim’s Review:

I was contacted by Safira X about reading her first novel, Flower. It sounded like something I would enjoy, so she sent me a free copy. I read it very quickly. I will admit that it is disturbing and not meant for everyone . . . And of course I liked it! There are some elements that I didn’t like, but the ending gave sufficient satisfaction when dealing with those elements. Overall, this is a dark book filled with horrific themes and I would only recommend it to certain people.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

The Home for Unwanted Girls by Joanna Goodman

The Home for Unwanted Girls
Author: Joanna Goodman
Published: April 17, 2018
384 Pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

In 1950s Quebec, French and English tolerate each other with precarious civility—much like Maggie Hughes’ parents. Maggie’s English-speaking father has ambitions for his daughter that don’t include marriage to the poor French boy on the next farm over. But Maggie’s heart is captured by Gabriel Phénix. When she becomes pregnant at fifteen, her parents force her to give baby Elodie up for adoption and get her life ‘back on track’.

Elodie is raised in Quebec’s impoverished orphanage system. It’s a precarious enough existence that takes a tragic turn when Elodie, along with thousands of other orphans in Quebec, is declared mentally ill as the result of a new law that provides more funding to psychiatric hospitals than to orphanages. Bright and determined, Elodie withstands abysmal treatment at the nuns’ hands, finally earning her freedom at seventeen, when she is thrust into an alien, often unnerving world.

Maggie, married to a businessman eager to start a family, cannot forget the daughter she was forced to abandon, and a chance reconnection with Gabriel spurs a wrenching choice. As time passes, the stories of Maggie and Elodie intertwine but never touch, until Maggie realizes she must take what she wants from life and go in search of her long-lost daughter, finally reclaiming the truth that has been denied them both.

Kim’s Review:

Overall, this was a good book. Orphanages reorganized into mental hospitals, all the orphans relabeled as mentally retarded. That right there is enough to draw me in, I really don’t ask for much! As historical fiction, I enjoyed it. The family saga is interesting and engaging. The stigmas and prejudices of the time came out plainly and were both understandable and disturbing. I liked most of the characters and sympathized through most of the story. But the thing that I had a hard time getting over was the victim mentality that saturated the entire story. In some situations, “victim” seemed the appropriate label;  but then when someone was faced with the consequences of their actions, all of a sudden, they’re a victim. That got old really fast.

Other than that, the story was emotional and I quickly found myself caring. This book is the better version of Lisa Wingate’s books. The story was complete and I felt like I got all pertinent information; no loose ends were left. I enjoyed this book and while I won’t ever read it again, I will say that those who enjoy emotional historical fiction will enjoy it too.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]