Tag: chick-lit

Blog Tour: Book Review: Flying Duo by Zoe May


Today I am helping to end the blog tour for Flying Duo by Zoe May by sharing my review.  This is the second in the series and I have really enjoyed both novels! My review for the first in the series Flying Solo is here.

Book Description:

Can true love go the distance?

London lawyer Rachel Watson has wound up in an Indian ashram with hippy heartthrob lover, Seb.

A high-achiever, Rachel has always lived life according to her Life List, ticking off goals along the way. But now that she’s in India, Rachel is going with the flow, or at least trying to…

Rachel’s visa is running out and it’s time to decide whether her relationship with Seb is a holiday romance or built to last.

The pair embark on a trip to Nepal for an Everest base camp trek, but will their relationship survive this gruelling expedition or is it time to part ways?

Flying Duo is the second romantic comedy in the ‘Flying’ series, following on from bestseller, Flying Solo, which was described by the Daily Express newspaper as ‘a must read that will appeal to fans of Sophie Kinsella, Beth O’Leary and Mhari McFarlane’.


Flying Duo
Series: Flying Solo Book 2
Author:  Zoe May
Published:  March 1, 2021
161 Pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: February 13-23, 2021
Jessica’s Rating: 4 stars    

Jessica’s Review:

Flying Duo is the sequel to Flying Solo, but it could be treated as a stand-alone novel. I chose to re-read the last part of Flying Solo to ‘refresh’ my memory but that is not needed as what happened in Solo is addressed in Duo. ***I do 1000% recommend reading Solo first to fully enjoy Duo with the quirkiness of Rachel.*** 

I absolutely adored Flying Solo, so I could not sign up fast enough to join the blog tour for Flying Duo by Zoe May. I wanted to see what was going to happen next with Rachel and Seb and Duo picks up where Solo ended.

We start this adventure in India and end up at Mt. Everest base camp.  Along with Rachel come some crazy undertakings: Can we say language barriers and misspoken words in a foreign language to start? HAHA!  Oh and all the adventures of hiking that includes leeches and uncomfortable hostels but also bring new friends along the way. This is definitely an interesting trip for Rachel and Seb as Rachel begins to think about their possible future.  The ending is fitting, but I still hope we get another novel that continues this pure escapist and fun story.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

About the Author:

Zoe May is an author of romantic comedies. Zoe has dreamt of being a novelist since she was a teenager. She worked in journalism and copywriting in London before writing her debut novel, Perfect Match. Having experienced the London dating scene first hand, Zoe couldn’t resist writing a novel about dating since it seems to supply endless amounts of weird and wonderful material!

Perfect Match was one of Apple’s top-selling books of 2018. It was also shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s Joan Hessayon Award, with judges describing it as ‘a laugh out loud look at love and self-discovery – fresh and very funny’.

As well as writing, Zoe enjoys walking her dog, painting and, of course, reading! She adores animals and if she’s not taking a photo of a vegan meal, she’s probably tweeting about the dairy industry. She is half Greek and half Irish and can make a mean baklava. Zoe has a thing for horror films, India, swimming, hip hop and Radiohead. She has an encyclopaedic knowledge of handbags having spent several years working in fashion copywriting and could probably win Mastermind if this was her specialist subject!

Contact Zoe:
Website
Twitter @zoe_writes
Instagram @zoe_writes

Release Day Review: Siri, Who Am I? by Sam Tschida

Siri, Who Am I?
Author:  Sam Tschida

Published: TODAY, January 12, 2021
352 Pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: December 25, 2020- January 4, 2021
Jessica’s Rating: 3 stars

Book Description:

Mia might look like a Millennial but she was born yesterday. Emerging from a coma with short-term amnesia after an accident, Mia can’t remember her own name until the Siri assistant on her iPhone provides it. Based on her cool hairstyle (undercut with glamorous waves), dress (Prada), and signature lipstick (Chanel), she senses she’s wealthy, but the only way to know for sure is to retrace her steps once she leaves the hospital. Using Instagram and Uber, she arrives at the pink duplex she calls home in posts but finds Max, a cute, off-duty postdoc supplementing his income with a house-sitting gig. He tells her the house belongs to JP, a billionaire with a chocolate empire. A few texts later, JP confirms her wildest dreams: they’re in love, Mia is living the good life, and he’ll be back that weekend.

But as Mia and Max work backward through her Instagram and across Los Angeles to learn more about her, they discover a surprising truth behind her perfect Instagram feed, and evidence that her head wound was no accident. Who was Mia before she woke up in that hospital? And is it too late for her to rewrite her story?

Jessica’s Review:

Siri, Who Am I? would be the perfect beach read if you can get to a beach these days!  Mia wakes up from a coma with no memory of who she is and how she ended up in the hospital. She even relies on her phone to tell her her own name! 

The only negative for me is that this is one novel where you MUST suspend your belief in reality, as someone with no memory/ knowledge of who she is or who she knows with no wallet/ID/medical insurance cards would never be let go on her own accord from the hospital. Mia doesn’t even know where she lives so where is she going to go?  There is 1000% no way a hospital would release her!  Ok, now that is over…

This is an entertaining read and I enjoyed going on the ride with Mia as she slowly discovers who she is and what her life is like (including her job!). But things are not quite what they seem as Mia beings to discover reality via Instagram and more. There are many popular culture references from recent years and not so recent years that just about everyone reading can catch and add enjoyment to while reading.  The character of Mia actually has a real Instagram handle: @mia4realz. There are not many posts on this account but it was still fun to see. Of course the author has her own Instagram account: @therealsamtschida

Siri, Who Am I? has the ending I was rooting for, but was not sure would happen.  This novel is a very light read, and is pure escapist fantasy that will definitely bring enjoyment to the reader.  While far from perfect, this novel is definitely one for fans of chick lit.  I could also see this book becoming an entertaining film, one that I would definitely watch.

Many thanks to the publisher for granting me an arc copy to read and review. 

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

Book Review: What You Wish For

What You Wish For
Author: Katherine Center

Published: July 14, 2020
Audiobook

Reviewed By: Jessica
Jessica’s Rating: 3 stars
Dates Read: September 11-17, 2020

Book Description:

Samantha Casey is a school librarian who loves her job, the kids, and her school family with passion and joy for living. But she wasn’t always that way.

Duncan Carpenter is the new school principal who lives by rules and regulations, guided by the knowledge that bad things can happen. But he wasn’t always that way.

And Sam knows it. Because she knew him before—at another school, in a different life. Back then, she loved him—but she was invisible. To him. To everyone. Even to herself. She escaped to a new school, a new job, a new chance at living. But when Duncan, of all people, gets hired as the new principal there, it feels like the best thing that could possibly happen to the school—and the worst thing that could possibly happen to Sam. Until the opposite turns out to be true. The lovable Duncan she’d known is now a suit-and-tie wearing, rule-enforcing tough guy so hell-bent on protecting the school that he’s willing to destroy it.

As the school community spirals into chaos, and danger from all corners looms large, Sam and Duncan must find their way to who they really are, what it means to be brave, and how to take a chance on love—which is the riskiest move of all.

Jessica’s Review:

**RANT ALERT**

The past two years I have discovered Katherine Center and adored her, in fact she made my top 10 list for 2019 and 2020.  Needless to say I was looking forward to her newest one What You Wish For but this one just didn’t quite work for me. 

What I did love is that the protagonist, Sam (Samantha) has a non-visual disability.  We don’t have many novels with our main character that has a disability, and I wish we did. And this disability is very much a part of the storyline.  I have a sister who suffers from a visual disability, so this is something that tugs my heart.  Thank you Katherine Center for creating a character like this! 

Now, for what I did not like: Sam’s personality. She is 28 years old, but comes off much more immature than her age.  I enjoy strong, female characters and Sam is the opposite of that.  Yes, she had an unrequited crush on Duncan Carpenter years ago (who hasn’t had one at some point in their life?) and they worked at the same school.  Eventually she left the school she worked at and is happy being the librarian at her new school she is working at.  A few years later, the beloved principal of the school passes away to the heartbreak of the students and staff. Then his replacement is announced and the new principal will be Duncan Carpenter…

What I did not like about Sam is that she debates on quitting her job again because of Duncan being hired.  Come on, you are quitting your job…Because a man who you had an unrequited crush on is hired!?!?!?  He did not even know who you are!  OMG, I had so much frustration with Sam!  How immature is this??? How old are we??? Oh yes… 28 years old. A very immature 28 years old.   I could possibly see leaving the school if you had been in a serious relationship and it ended poorly, but this is just an unrequited CRUSH! 

And then when Duncan arrives, he is a complete 180 from when Sam knew him  at their old school. And this 180 turn is completely serious, by the books, rule making principal.  There is no fun with this ‘new Duncan’.  Sam is determined to find out why Duncan has changed so much.

Both Sam and Duncan have secrets they are keeping, and when we find out Duncan’s everything comes to make sense. It is actually because of this secret that I gave an extra .5 stars to my rating.

Towards the end we have a little side story that comes into play that also just did not work for me. It just came out of left field for me. I did not see the point to it.

I listened to the audiobook version of What You Wish For which is narrated by Therese Plummer, another narrator I adore!  Bonus points for her narration!

This could be a cute little summer beach read (or just a getaway from the way that 2020 has become) that may work for you. I do enjoy chick-lit novels, but this one was just not for me. I will continue to read Center and maybe get to some of her older novels.  If you like the strong female characters then stay away from this one. I really wish I could have enjoyed this one more and would have loved to have seen Center make my top 10 for 2020, but she won’t with this novel. But there is always next year!  

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]