Tag: Christmas

Merry Christmas

 

Merry Christmas from Jessica’s Reading Room to you!  We hope your holiday and end of 2019 is wonderful! We will be taking a few days off from posting, but you may still see us over on the Facebook page. We should be back on Sunday with another post. Also coming will be Jessica and Kim’s Top 10 lists of 2019!

Don’t for get the reason for the season: Jesus! He was born to save us from our sins!

 

Video Review: Santa Claus is For Real

In 2017, both Kim and I read and reviewed Santa Claus is For Real by Charles Edward Hall. Kim reads it every year and even writes to Mr. Hall!  This is a book that shows the magic that Christmas can and does have!  This year Kim decided to have a video review:

Kim’s previous review is here.
Jessica’s previous review is here.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

The Gift by Richard Paul Evans

The Gift
Author: Richard Paul Evans
Published: October 9, 2007
Audiobook

Reviewed By: Jessica
Jessica’s Rating: 4 stars
Dates Read: December 1-5, 2019

Book Description:

A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box and Finding Noel from New York Times bestselling author Richard Paul Evans. Sure to be a classic, this new tale brings to life the joy of the season and demonstrates the redemptive power of love: there is no hurt so great that love cannot heal it.

Nathan Hurst hated Christmas. For the rest of the world it was a day of joy and celebration; for Nathan it was simply a reminder of the event that destroyed his childhood until a snowstorm, a cancelled flight, and an unexpected meeting with a young mother and her very special son would show him that Christmas is indeed the season of miracles.

From the beloved author of the international bestseller The Christmas Box comes another timeless story of faith, hope, and healing.

Jessica’s Review:

The Gift is a sweet story to be read at Christmas.  Nathan Hurst does not celebrate Christmas for very personal reasons.  Then one day his flight is delayed and he meets single mom Addison, her children Colin and Elizabeth and all of their lives are changed forever.

The Gift shows what happens when a very unique ability (with consequences) becomes a news story and life gets out of hand.  This story shows how greedy we can be as humans without regard for others.  On the flip side, this novel also shows how love can and will overcome the greed. 

If only more of us were like Colin, the world would be a better place.  This is a novel that will touch your heart and you may possibly shed a tear or two.  You will definitely feel better emotionally when you finish The Gift.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US  
Amazon UK

[Top]