Tag: fiction

The Lost for Words Bookshop


Author: Stephanie Butland
To Be Published: (Tomorrow) June 19, 2018
368 pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: June 10-17, 2018
Jessica’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:
Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never, ever show you.

Into her hiding place—the bookstore where she works – come a poet, a lover, and three suspicious deliveries.

Someone has found out about her mysterious past. Will Loveday survive her own heartbreaking secrets?

The Lost for Words Bookshop is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending novel, perfect for fans of The Storied Life of AJ Fikry and The Little Paris Bookshop.

Jessica’s Review:
If you are a book lover in any way and/or an introvert this will be the book for you! The Lost for Words Bookshop is a character driven story and Loveday is our protagonist. She would rather spend time with books than people, so her job at the bookstore is perfect: In fact she has worked there for 10 years. She loves books so much she has tattooed first lines of various books on her body. She is a likeable nonconformist with a dark past that we slowly discover as the novel progresses. I also really liked Archie, the owner. Nathan is also likeable as well, he is a magician and knows all the tricks!

Don’t let the cover fool you, this book is not a lighthearted read. It has dark undertones dealing with Loveday’s past and you will experience a range of emotions while reading.

The mysteries of Loveday’s past and certain deliveries kept you wondering where the story was going to go. I really wanted to find out the answers! Loveday is our narrator and we see the story between the past and present, but it is clear and not confusing.

This was a highly enjoyable read and I recommend it, especially for the bibliophiles out there!
Thank you St. Martin’s Press for my copy: It was a pleasure to read and review.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US (Pre-order)
Amazon UK (already published in the UK)

American Girls

Author: Alison Umminger
Published: June 7, 2016
293 pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

She was looking for a place to land.

Anna is a fifteen-year-old girl slouching toward adulthood, and she’s had it with her life at home. So Anna “borrows” her stepmom’s credit card and runs away to Los Angeles, where her half-sister takes her in. But LA isn’t quite the glamorous escape Anna had imagined.

As Anna spends her days on TV and movie sets, she engrosses herself in a project researching the murderous Manson girls—and although the violence in her own life isn’t the kind that leaves physical scars, she begins to notice the parallels between herself and the lost girls of LA, and of America, past and present.

In Anna’s singular voice, we glimpse not only a picture of life on the B-list in LA, but also a clear-eyed reflection on being young, vulnerable, lost, and female in America—in short, on the B-list of life. Alison Umminger writes about girls, sex, violence, and which people society deems worthy of caring about, which ones it doesn’t, in a way not often seen in YA fiction.

Kim’s Review:

Normally I find the protagonists of coming of age stories to be shallow, immature, and downright obnoxious! Not so in American Girls. Anna captured the “regularness” that many of these characters, especially girls, lack. Her life is turned upside down and her reaction to it all, yes, is dramatic, but understandable. I liked her, I understood why she did the things that she did, and I sympathized with her. Especially when she was talking about not trying to cause trouble or to hurt people but it ends up happening anyway. This book accomplished what so many other failed at, a regular person dealing with regular things all while being likable and relatable. Throwing in the Manson girls and working through some philosophical questions raised by the murders and their aftermaths, which is the main reason I read it, and you get a true to life, heartfelt story about growing up in a topsy-turvy world.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

Still Me

Author: Jojo Moyes
Published: January 30, 2018
Audiobook

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: March 6- April 1, 2018
Jessica’s Rating: 3.5 stars

Book Description:

Louisa Clark arrives in New York ready to start a new life, confident that she can embrace this new adventure and keep her relationship with Ambulance Sam alive across several thousand miles. She steps into the world of the superrich, working for Leonard Gopnik and his much younger second wife, Agnes. Lou is determined to get the most out of the experience and throws herself into her new job and New York life.

As she begins to mix in New York high society, Lou meets Joshua Ryan, a man who brings with him a whisper of her past. Before long, Lou finds herself torn between Fifth Avenue where she works and the treasure-filled vintage clothing store where she actually feels at home. And when matters come to a head, she has to ask herself: Who is Louisa Clark? And how do you reconcile a heart that lives in two places?

Funny, romantic, and poignant, Still Me follows Lou as she navigates how to stay true to herself, while pushing to live boldly in her brave new world.

Jessica’s Review:

Still Me is the third in the series about Louisa Clark (Lou). The first novel, Me BeforeYou is the best, though for me it was not a love story, it was an end of life story. Lou is the focus, but for me the story was all about Will. Yes, I did the ugly cry, and no, I have not brought myself to watch the movie. I don’t think I can handle it. In After You Lou is trying to move on in her life past Will. She learns something about Will and she also meets Ambulance Sam. At the end she is moving on to New York City.

My reviews are here:
Me Before You
After You

Now we have Still Me. I like Lou: She is just a normal young lady who had some intriguing circumstances in her life and now we get to see more of that life. She is now in New York with a new job! She works and adjusts to a different sort of life until things happen. I couldn’t help but feel for Lou at certain times, she was being naïve and innocent in some ways. At some times I couldn’t help but roll my eyes at her as well.  I felt like at times that she is dragging herself into things that she shouldn’t.  And then I felt at times, “Come on, move on from Will!”  She gets into a bit of a mess and has to figure out what she will do next.

There are also romantic entanglements and at times I wanted to help smack some sense into her. It was frustration in a good way since Lou is a lady you can’t help but like and you want her to have her happy ending, whatever that may be. By the end Lou has made her decision and Moyes ends the story, but I could see it continuing if she chooses to. Lou is her character and yes, if she wrote a fourth novel about Lou I would read it.

Still Me is recommended.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]