Tag: graphic novel

Graphic Novel Review: Son of Hitler

Son of Hitler
Authors:
Anthony Del Col
Geoff Moore
Illustrator: Jeff McComsey
Published: June 26, 2018
192 Pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

What if Adolf Hitler had a secret son no one knew about?

In the darkest days of World War II a female British spy handler discovers a rumor: that when Adolf Hitler was stationed in France during the First World War he fathered a child. Armed with stolen Nazi files, she secretly tracks down this son to recruit him for a mission to meet his biological father – and assassinate him.

But that may not be the end of the Hitler family saga…

A pulpy spy and alternative history thriller in the vein of Man in the High Castle, Zero Dark Thirty, Inglourious Basterds and the works of John Le Carre, this Image Comics graphic novel exploring one of the war’s greatest legends is by acclaimed writer Anthony Del Col (Assassin’s Creed, Kill Shakespeare), New York Times bestselling illustrator Jeff McComsey (FUBAR, Flutter) and newcomer Geoff Moore.

A story so wild it could only be true… maybe…

Kim’s Review:

To be fair, I’m not a big fan of graphic novels, and that’s really the only reason I’m giving this book 4 stars. The story and the artwork are excellent. Thankfully this “alternate history” falls closely in line with fact and not on its own ridiculous timeline. The characters are emotional and I found myself hoping that history did indeed have a different outcome. I really enjoyed this book and I wish it was available in novel form. I guarantee it would be 5 stars!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

The Way: Age of Darkness

Author: Cole Alexander Higgins
Published: August 13, 2019
170 Pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 3 stars

Book Description:

“Inside every world is another world, and inside of that is darkness and light.”

There exists a subconscious realm where emotions and thought can be found in their most vulnerable and raw state. It’s through this realm of not-quite-here and not-quite-there that accomplished animator and storyteller, Cole Alexander Higgins, will guide you in his new book The Way Volume 1: Age of Darkness.

This unique story is set in a distant, primitive world. A dark, malevolent force has spread across the land, turning brothers into enemies and men into monsters. Each image represents a window into the daily lives of this time and these people. These visions reveal how the people of a once great world fell into darkness, and what might be required for them to climb their way back to the light.

The Way Volume 1: Age of Darkness insightful story and striking imagery act as gateways to the subconscious—the area where our truest selves reside. Explore the depths of your own subconscious and the struggle between darkness and light. And perhaps discover your own path along the way.

Immerse yourself in The Way Volume 1: Age of Darkness and get ready to discover the worlds found within worlds…

Kim’s Review:

I was given a copy of The Way: Age of Darkness from Archangel Ink in exchange for an honest review. I was intrigued by the book the minute I picked it up, the cover and illustrations looked interesting. I will admit that I doubt I’m the best person to review this book simply because I’m not all that deep. There’s a lot implied and each person’s own self will greatly influence each individual reading. That sounds so hippie, but it’s true. Each page is literally one word and illustration. There was enough there to keep me interested in trying to form a story in my head.

As I said before, I’m not the most philosophically deep person, so I doubt I got what I was meant to. However, I enjoyed reading it for what it was and I would probably pick up Volume 2 when it’s released. Overall, a fascinating read.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

Dear Justice League

Dear Justice League
Author:  Michael Northrop

Illustrator: Gustavo Duarte
Published: Today, August 6, 2019
176 Pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Date Read: July 31, 2019
Jessica’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

The greatest heroes in the DC Comics universe, the Justice League, answer mail from their biggest fans–kids!–courtesy of Michael Northrop, New York Times bestselling author of TombQuest, and artist Gustavo Duarte.

Does Superman ever make mistakes? What was Wonder Woman’s eleventh birthday like? Does Aquaman smell like fish? In this new middle-grade graphic novel, iconic heroes are asked questions both big and small, and when they are not busy saving the world, the Justice League even finds time to respond. Their honest and humorous answers will surprise and delight readers of any age, as it turns out that being a superhero is not too different from being a kid.

Full of feats, follies, and colorful illustrations, Dear Justice League gives readers the inside scoop into everyday heroics, no matter who wears the cape!

Jessica’s Review:

Dear Justice League is a graphic novel aimed at middle grades kids.  It is a fun continuous story of kids asking questions of their favorite hero/heroine.  And the Justice League even gets to save the day!

There are eight ‘chapters’  featuring a member of the Justice League. Each chapter introduced the character then gets to the important issue of a child’s question in which the superhero answers honestly in their own unique way.  Each chapter builds on the previous and we have appearances by Superman, Hawkgirl, Aquaman, Wonder Woman, the Flash, Green Lantern, Cyborg, and Batman.

Each chapter is unique and showcases the personality of each character.  My personal favorite was The Flash’s chapter.  And I have to say one thing: Poor ‘old fashioned’ Batman! 

The illustrations are very colorful and well done.  They definitely add to the story. I am not familiar with all the DC characters, so this was a good introduction for me.  It would be great for kids as well.  This is an enjoyable graphic novel for kids and adults! 

Many thanks to the publisher for granting me a copy via NetGalley.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]