Tag: Kim

Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

Author: Jennifer Donnelly
Published: October 12. 2010
472 pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

BROOKLYN: Andi Alpers is on the edge. She’s angry at her father for leaving, angry at her mother for not being able to cope, and heartbroken by the loss of her younger brother, Truman. Rage and grief are destroying her. And she’s about to be expelled from Brooklyn Heights’ most prestigious private school when her father intervenes. Now Andi must accompany him to Paris for winter break.

PARIS: Alexandrine Paradis lived over two centuries ago. She dreamed of making her mark on the Paris stage, but a fateful encounter with a doomed prince of France cast her in a tragic role she didn’t want—and couldn’t escape.

Two girls, two centuries apart. One never knowing the other. But when Andi finds Alexandrine’s diary, she recognizes something in her words and is moved to the point of obsession. There’s comfort and distraction for Andi in the journal’s antique pages—until, on a midnight journey through the catacombs of Paris, Alexandrine’s words transcend paper and time, and the past becomes suddenly, terrifyingly present.

Kim’s Review:

I love this book so much! This was the first book that kept me up until 3:00 in the morning and then I had to give study halls to all my classes so I could finish it. Yeah, yeah, I was occasionally a bad teacher.

Revolution is the perfect combination of history and fantasy. No, none of us can really step back in time to live out the life of an obscure historical criminal just to see how the story ends. But Andi did, and we can all live vicariously through her. Donnelly does a great job of showing the other side of the French Revolution. It seems like in every portrayal, the royals are the bad guys and the revolutionaries are the good guys. That is not the case at all. As with most history, the Revolution was not black and white. There were no good guys or bad guys, there were people who fell on one side or the other. Both sides were guilty of horrible things and both sides did good things. Donnelly gives us a look into some of the true innocents in the Revolution, the royal children. Louis XVI and Marie Antionette had several children, but only their daughter survived the Revolution. What is truly sad is that their son, Louis-Charles, suffered in ways that no child should ever have to. He was imprisoned, sealed into a room and reduced to starvation and madness.

Andi was an ok character. I felt sorry for her because of the death of her brother and her mother’s downward spiral into a mental breakdown. Her father certainly didn’t help matters by ignoring everything, including Andi. But, at times, she turned into a whiny teenager and I lost patience with that attitude really fast! Alexandrine, the girl in Paris during the Revolution, was a much more likable character. She was faced with tough situation after tough situation and yet she kept fighting and trying and I found her fascinating! Overall, this is just an awesome book that held my attention from the first page to the last page. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone who likes historical fiction and to any teen whether they like to read or not.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

You Will Be Mine by Natasha Preston

Author: Natasha Preston
Published: February 6, 2018
292 Pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 4  stars

Book Description:

ROSES ARE RED
VIOLETS ARE BLUE
WATCH YOUR BACK
I’M COMING FOR YOU

Lylah and her friends can’t wait to spend a night out together. Partying is the perfect way to let loose from the stress of life and school, and Lylah hopes that hitting the dance floor with Chace, her best friend, will bring them closer together. She’s been crushing on him since they met. If only he thought of her the same way…

The girls are touching up their makeup and the guys are sliding on their coats when the doorbell rings. No one is there. An envelope sits on the doormat. It’s an anonymous note addressed to their friend Sonny. A secret admirer? Maybe. They all laugh it off.

Except Sonny never comes home. And a new note arrives:
YOUR TURN

Kim’s Review:

Preston does it again!

One major note right at the very beginning: Do not look at the last page unless you want to be spoiled! All I did was look at the page number on the last page; I accidentally saw the illustration and I spoiled it for myself and that brought my reading down! I was pretty pissed with myself . . . for a good while.

But aside from that! This was a good mystery. I was still very surprised by the resolution and Preston kept the tension and suspense going throughout the whole book. My only issue was Lylah and her weird attitude. She seemed incredibly contradictory to me, in a really immature way. Sometimes she would be a typical college student but then she’d switch to the traumatized teenager, but then switched to a needy little girl and there was no consistency. Thankfully, it wasn’t so bad that it distracted from the story. The emotions from most of the characters were palpable and I could feel the strain. Preston manages to create stories that would be welcome on Criminal Minds . . . always creepy and chilling. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a good thriller! 

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

Sunday Series Review: When Tomorrow Calls Boxset by JT Lawrence

Today the Sunday Series Review is back and today Kim reviews the When Tomorrow Calls boxset on Audible by JT Lawrence.  We originally meant for this to be a Double Review, but I have not listened to it and I did not want Kim’s review to wait anymore since we were sent this copy by the author herself. Once I listen to the books, I will share the reviews with you! (Mine may be individual reviews.)

Books in the Series:
Why You Were Taken

How We Found You
What Have We Done


Why You Were Taken
Published: February 23, 2017
408 Pages

Imagine discovering your murdered parents were really your abductors. Then you find out you’re on the hit list. In tomorrow’s world, a troubled woman approaches Kirsten with a warning and a wafer key and is later found dead. Was she just another victim of the Suicide Contagion, or is there something more sinister at play? The key leads Kirsten on a chase to the Doomsday Seed Vault and a hit list of seven people … and her barcode is on it.

How We Found You
Published: May 18, 2017
489 Pages

Would you sacrifice your son to save your daughter? There’s something different about Kate’s four-year-old son. He wasn’t created the old-fashioned way. Now a violent cult wants him dead and Kate will do anything to protect him – until they take her daughter. Who will she choose to live, and who will she have to sacrifice?

What Have We Done
Published: October 23, 2017
550 Pages

In tomorrow’s world where the edges blur between addictive virtual reality and real life, would you hurt your daughter if it was the only way to set her free?

When gaming junkie Silver doesn’t make it home on the eve of her sixteenth birthday, Kate and Keke go out to find her. It’s a treacherous journey navigating a city in the midst of a flash civil war. Shrouded in electrosmog and panic, it’s been taken over by vigilante bot hunters as a violent AI uprising puts everyone Kate loves in danger, especially Mally and his anthrobot girlfriend. 

Suicide Agent Zack’s in trouble. After a charade of a trial he’s sentenced to hard labour at SkyRest, the most controversial penal labour colony in the country. He’s shocked by what he finds there, deep underground, but the more he resists it, the more they brainbleach him into submission. If he doesn’t find his way, he’ll never be able to tell Kate what he needs to tell her. Which is a problem, because it’s the whole reason he exists.

With the Doomsday Prophecy looming large, Kate discovers there are forces at play she’d never guess at, and much more at stake than just her or her children’s lives. What she’ll need to do to keep everyone safe will stretch her beyond every hard limit.

Will Kate play the game?

Cyberpunk meets the robopocalypse on the edge of litRPG in this dark dystopian thriller. Jack in and get ready for a headsplosion with this third book in the riveting series When Tomorrow Calls.

Ready? Your next addiction starts now.


Kim’s Rating of the Series: 4 Stars

Kim’s Review of the Series:

I received this series for free on Audible in exchange for an honest review. I listened to all three books. I really enjoyed the first book. It’s unique and I liked the narrator a lot. I fell in love with Seth very quickly and although Kirsten wasn’t my favorite character, I cared about what happened to her. Keke was easily one of the best characters in the series. The futuristic world of Johannesburg with all the cool tech was well developed and I wouldn’t mind visiting someday! The ending came out of nowhere and when I finished, I couldn’t wait to move on to the next book.

Book two wasn’t as good as the first, mainly because of Kirsten, now called Kate. She was whiny through the whole book! Seth and Keke were still strong and the story was engaging. I found the religious conspiracy interesting, though not really unique. The ending was strong, but I wasn’t sure what more needed to be said.

Book three is the weakest of the series, and honestly, I don’t think the series needed it. The ending is what really disappointed me. It was weird and completely unconnected to the rest of the series. Overall, I really liked books one and two, and didn’t like book three.

A good series and I think fans of sci-fi and futuristic fiction would enjoy it!


Once you have finished the series…There is more! JT Lawrence has written more:
The Sigma Surrogate (Prequel)
Published: March 16, 2018
193 Pages

Joni is a state surrogate: young, bright, and most importantly: fertile.

… and someone wants her dead.

Keke is a smart, sexy biker; a renegade with a hunger for justice. She won’t stop until she exposes the truth, even it means putting her life in danger. Will Keke’s reckless ambition help the state surrogates, or harm them?

Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale, Never Let Me Go and Mr Robot.

Keke’s story is waiting for you.

The Stepford Florist (short novel)
Published:
October 21, 2017

78 Pages

Jasmine is arrested for performing a bootleg vampire facelift in her modded-out steampunk caravan.

She’s thrilled, because it’s worked out exactly as she planned.

Jasmine has mastered moonlighting. She’s a steampunk inventor, a cosmetician, and a gene-hacking florist. And then there’s her real job: exposing evil corps and dodgy clinics.

When Jasmine, the head of Alba—an underground biopunk organisation—is tipped off that something morally dubious is happening at the city’s most luxurious high-tech spa, she takes it upon herself to investigate, and discovers a whole lot more than she bargained for.

(Warning: Contains colorful language and sex.)

This short novel is set in the near-future ‘When Tomorrow Calls’ world, and introduces Jasmine, Seth and Keke, just before we meet Kirsten, the kick-ass main character in ‘Why You Were Taken’.


Purchase Links:

Amazon US:
Why You Were Taken
How We Found You
What Have We Done

Free on Kindle:
The Sigma Surrogate (Prequel)
The Stepford Florist (short novel)

Amazon UK:
Why You Were Taken
How We Found You
What Have We Done

Free on Kindle:
The Sigma Surrogate (Prequel)
The Stepford Florist (short novel)

[Top]