Tag: short stories

A Double Review of Sticky Fingers 2

Kim and I previously listened to the Audible version of Sticky Fingers by JT Lawerence here.  We will be reviewing Sticky Fingers 2 today and Sticky Fingers 3 tomorrow!  All of these Audible versions were sent to us by Lawrence in exchange for honest reviews: and both Kim and I  love these short story collections!  We are somewhat similar yet also different with what we like and it seems that between the both of us we enjoyed all of the stories in these collections. Thank you so much JT Lawrence for sending us these copies!  

Author: JT Lawrence
Published: March 24, 2018
Audible

Book Description:

Diverse, dark-humored, and deliciously bite-sized: JT Lawrence ratchets up the tension with this compelling collection of short stories perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Roald Dahl.

Stories Include:

Gatsby’s Double
An artist’s Pomeranian has been replaced by an imposter.

Court, Marry, Kill
Whose body ends up being unzipped by fish on the ocean floor?

Rockabye Baby
A female-only cult has a very dark side.

He Did It
A detective relies on his gut (and his hallucinations) to help him solve murder cases.

The Brain Bleacher
He can remove your pain by hacking your memory, but his own suffering is here to stay.

If you’re a fan of Roald Dahl or Gillian Flynn you’ll love this collection of unsettling stories with a twist in the tale. Get it now.


Kim’s Review
Kim’s Rating: 4 Stars

I am writing this review based off the listening of my free Audible copy, provided by the author. Another awesome short story collection, just as dark as the first! And I really enjoyed how the author built on stories from the first collection. The vacation reviewer story was funny in the first volume, but he was absolutely hilarious in the second! I laughed through the whole story. I loved trying to predict the twist in each story, not that I’m very good at it, I just enjoy doing it. I think my favorites in this bunch were Astrid, about the mother who puts her daughter in daycare for the first time, Dasher, cuz I hate kids and people (:D), and Court, Marry, Kill, because I love vigilante justice!

The Sticky Fingers compilations are pretty much the only short story collections that I’ll read, and I really like them a lot! The only reason I gave this collection 4 stars is because one of the stories is from the When Tomorrow Calls series, and I had already read it. I absolutely recommend this collection to anyone looking for a chilling, interesting read!

Jessica’s Review
Dates Listened: October 10-16, 2018
Jessica’s Rating: 5 stars

Continuing in the tradition of Sticky Fingers, JT Lawrence brings us volume two in what is at this point a three volume series of short stories.  There are twelve stories in each and I love these books! I really enjoy short stories, especially when they are well written.  There is something for everyone if you like short stories that have a twist to them. Just be prepared for when the story is over that you may want it to continue!

Not all the stories were not for me, at no fault to the author.  Some of the stories just did not work for me, but not everything written will please everyone.  JT Lawrence really has a talent with her short stories!  I will write ‘mini-reviews’ on some of the stories:

Panama Wings:
A Missing woman and a missing plane. What’s the connection? It’s not what you expect and neither was that ending. 

Astrid:
This one really gripped me. I figured the twist out fairly quickly, but the journey of getting there with our narrator… OMG!

GlobeTrotter69:
Here we go again with the reviews of a hotel stay! I love it!!!!

Court, Marry, Kill:
This one was difficult to listen to, but had a satisfying ending: I loved it!

Alpha Lyrae:
A robot love story: I needed more to this one. Maybe Lawrence will expand on this world! (And I am selective with my sci-fi stories…)

Rockabye Baby:
A female only cult:  That is all you need to say and I am there reading it!  I find cults fascinating and this had a Handmaid’s Tale feel to it for me (I have not read Handmaid’s Tale and only watched the first episode of the show, but it had the same type feeling for me.) 

Brain Bleacher:

I loved this concept and I need more!

**Please note that Jessica had previously purchased a Kindle copy, but chose to listen to the Audible copy sent by the author. Thank you again to JT Lawrence for the Audible copy. We both enjoyed it and highly recommend this short story collection!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Author: Emily Carroll
Published: July 15, 2014
208 Pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

Journey through the woods in this sinister, compellingly spooky collection that features four brand-new stories and one phenomenally popular tale in print for the first time. These are fairy tales gone seriously wrong, where you can travel to “Our Neighbor’s House”—though coming back might be a problem. Or find yourself a young bride in a house that holds a terrible secret in “A Lady’s Hands Are Cold.” You might try to figure out what is haunting “My Friend Janna,” or discover that your brother’s fiancée may not be what she seems in “The Nesting Place.” And of course, you must revisit the horror of “His Face All Red,” the breakout web-comic hit that has been gorgeously translated to the printed page.

Kim’s Review:

Creepy as all get out!!! I mean holy crap! Ivan got me this book for my birthday this year, and that shouldn’t be surprising since he’s a horror geek. And I give him credit; he never buys me a book without reading the description first and if it doesn’t sound good to him, then he saves it for me to buy for myself. But I digress! This was a great collection of eerie stories! Most of them have a lot of implied horror, which I do like, just not as much as obvious horror, cuz I’m an obvious person! I did love the illustrations, but there were times when I felt like I was reading a kid’s picture book. Obviously, it’s not a kid’s book, it was just a little sparse for my taste. Other than that, I really liked this graphic novel! A good one to send chills down your spine! Definitely a must for anyone who loves the macabre!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

Blog Tour: Chilling Tales of the Unexpected

Today I am one of three stops on this final day of the blog tour for Chilling Tales of the Unexpected by Ann Girdharry. It is a collection of four short stories that will chill you!

Book Description:

Four twisty, short reads.
Addictive works of suspense,
That will leave you breathless and give you goose bumps…

Trading with Death
What sacrifice might we make for those we love? In the face of death, will we be selfish or selfless?

Tell Me a Secret
Deceit, lies and secrets – how well do we know those close to us?

Sweet Justice 
We follow Tess as she confronts the dark side…

Written on the Apple Tree 
A moment from a past life, a possession, or a simple meeting between strangers?

Chilling Tales of the Unexpected
Author:
Ann Girdharry
Published: May 21, 2018

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: June 1-6, 2018
Jessica’s Rating: 3.5 stars

Jessica’s Review:

These are four short stories that add up to quick reading.  Each story offers insights into sacrifice, lust, and regret among other feelings. If you like dark short stories then you should pick this one up. Being these are short stories it is hard to say much without giving anything away, but I will give ‘mini-reviews’ on each short story:

Trading with Death
There isn’t much to say other than what the description says.  This was a good one!

Tell Me a Secret
This one was also good! I didn’t know where it was heading had no idea how it was going to end!  I loved it.

Sweet Justice
This one disturbed me on several levels.  Wow…..

Written on the Apple Tree
I enjoyed this one immensely. I would really like for Girdharry to expand it!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK
**More  purchase links available via Goodreads

About the Author:

Born and educated in the UK, Ann Girdharry is a trained psychotherapist and has worked as a manager in the not-for-profit sector for many years.

Today she lives in Montpellier, France with her husband and two children.

She writes suspense and thrillers, is a book reviewer and occasionally blogs for the Huffington Post UK. Her crime thriller novel, GOOD GIRL BAD GIRL, was an Eric Hoffer Book Award Finalist 2017. Two of her thrillers are READERS’ FAVOURITE Five Star Books.

Contact Ann:
Facebook
Twitter @GirdharryAnn
Goodreads
Bookbub

 

 

 

[Top]