Tag: suspense

Sunday Series Review: When Tomorrow Calls Boxset by JT Lawrence

Today the Sunday Series Review is back and today Kim reviews the When Tomorrow Calls boxset on Audible by JT Lawrence.  We originally meant for this to be a Double Review, but I have not listened to it and I did not want Kim’s review to wait anymore since we were sent this copy by the author herself. Once I listen to the books, I will share the reviews with you! (Mine may be individual reviews.)

Books in the Series:
Why You Were Taken

How We Found You
What Have We Done


Why You Were Taken
Published: February 23, 2017
408 Pages

Imagine discovering your murdered parents were really your abductors. Then you find out you’re on the hit list. In tomorrow’s world, a troubled woman approaches Kirsten with a warning and a wafer key and is later found dead. Was she just another victim of the Suicide Contagion, or is there something more sinister at play? The key leads Kirsten on a chase to the Doomsday Seed Vault and a hit list of seven people … and her barcode is on it.

How We Found You
Published: May 18, 2017
489 Pages

Would you sacrifice your son to save your daughter? There’s something different about Kate’s four-year-old son. He wasn’t created the old-fashioned way. Now a violent cult wants him dead and Kate will do anything to protect him – until they take her daughter. Who will she choose to live, and who will she have to sacrifice?

What Have We Done
Published: October 23, 2017
550 Pages

In tomorrow’s world where the edges blur between addictive virtual reality and real life, would you hurt your daughter if it was the only way to set her free?

When gaming junkie Silver doesn’t make it home on the eve of her sixteenth birthday, Kate and Keke go out to find her. It’s a treacherous journey navigating a city in the midst of a flash civil war. Shrouded in electrosmog and panic, it’s been taken over by vigilante bot hunters as a violent AI uprising puts everyone Kate loves in danger, especially Mally and his anthrobot girlfriend. 

Suicide Agent Zack’s in trouble. After a charade of a trial he’s sentenced to hard labour at SkyRest, the most controversial penal labour colony in the country. He’s shocked by what he finds there, deep underground, but the more he resists it, the more they brainbleach him into submission. If he doesn’t find his way, he’ll never be able to tell Kate what he needs to tell her. Which is a problem, because it’s the whole reason he exists.

With the Doomsday Prophecy looming large, Kate discovers there are forces at play she’d never guess at, and much more at stake than just her or her children’s lives. What she’ll need to do to keep everyone safe will stretch her beyond every hard limit.

Will Kate play the game?

Cyberpunk meets the robopocalypse on the edge of litRPG in this dark dystopian thriller. Jack in and get ready for a headsplosion with this third book in the riveting series When Tomorrow Calls.

Ready? Your next addiction starts now.


Kim’s Rating of the Series: 4 Stars

Kim’s Review of the Series:

I received this series for free on Audible in exchange for an honest review. I listened to all three books. I really enjoyed the first book. It’s unique and I liked the narrator a lot. I fell in love with Seth very quickly and although Kirsten wasn’t my favorite character, I cared about what happened to her. Keke was easily one of the best characters in the series. The futuristic world of Johannesburg with all the cool tech was well developed and I wouldn’t mind visiting someday! The ending came out of nowhere and when I finished, I couldn’t wait to move on to the next book.

Book two wasn’t as good as the first, mainly because of Kirsten, now called Kate. She was whiny through the whole book! Seth and Keke were still strong and the story was engaging. I found the religious conspiracy interesting, though not really unique. The ending was strong, but I wasn’t sure what more needed to be said.

Book three is the weakest of the series, and honestly, I don’t think the series needed it. The ending is what really disappointed me. It was weird and completely unconnected to the rest of the series. Overall, I really liked books one and two, and didn’t like book three.

A good series and I think fans of sci-fi and futuristic fiction would enjoy it!


Once you have finished the series…There is more! JT Lawrence has written more:
The Sigma Surrogate (Prequel)
Published: March 16, 2018
193 Pages

Joni is a state surrogate: young, bright, and most importantly: fertile.

… and someone wants her dead.

Keke is a smart, sexy biker; a renegade with a hunger for justice. She won’t stop until she exposes the truth, even it means putting her life in danger. Will Keke’s reckless ambition help the state surrogates, or harm them?

Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale, Never Let Me Go and Mr Robot.

Keke’s story is waiting for you.

The Stepford Florist (short novel)
Published:
October 21, 2017

78 Pages

Jasmine is arrested for performing a bootleg vampire facelift in her modded-out steampunk caravan.

She’s thrilled, because it’s worked out exactly as she planned.

Jasmine has mastered moonlighting. She’s a steampunk inventor, a cosmetician, and a gene-hacking florist. And then there’s her real job: exposing evil corps and dodgy clinics.

When Jasmine, the head of Alba—an underground biopunk organisation—is tipped off that something morally dubious is happening at the city’s most luxurious high-tech spa, she takes it upon herself to investigate, and discovers a whole lot more than she bargained for.

(Warning: Contains colorful language and sex.)

This short novel is set in the near-future ‘When Tomorrow Calls’ world, and introduces Jasmine, Seth and Keke, just before we meet Kirsten, the kick-ass main character in ‘Why You Were Taken’.


Purchase Links:

Amazon US:
Why You Were Taken
How We Found You
What Have We Done

Free on Kindle:
The Sigma Surrogate (Prequel)
The Stepford Florist (short novel)

Amazon UK:
Why You Were Taken
How We Found You
What Have We Done

Free on Kindle:
The Sigma Surrogate (Prequel)
The Stepford Florist (short novel)

The Flight Attendant by Chris Bohjalian

Author: Chris Bohjalian
Published: March 13, 2018
Audiobook

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Listened To: September 10-23, 2018
Jessica’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

Cassandra Bowden is no stranger to hungover mornings. She’s a binge drinker, her job with the airline making it easy to find adventure, and the occasional blackouts seem to be inevitable. She lives with them, and the accompanying self-loathing. When she awakes in a Dubai hotel room, she tries to piece the previous night back together, already counting the minutes until she has to catch her crew shuttle to the airport. She quietly slides out of bed, careful not to aggravate her already pounding head, and looks at the man she spent the night with. She sees his dark hair. His utter stillness. And blood, a slick, still wet pool on the crisp white sheets. Afraid to call the police—she’s a single woman alone in a hotel room far from home—Cassie begins to lie. She lies as she joins the other flight attendants and pilots in the van. She lies on the way to Paris as she works the first class cabin. She lies to the FBI agents in New York who meet her at the gate. Soon it’s too late to come clean—or face the truth about what really happened back in Dubai. Could she have killed him? If not, who did?

Jessica’s Review:

The Flight Attendant was the first book I have read by Chris Bohjalian and it will not be my last!  It genuinely surprised me how much I enjoyed it as Cassandra (Cassie) is not likeable at all!  She is very much the unreliable narrator who finds herself in a unique situation in a country that is oppressive to women: She wakes up and the man lying next to her is dead and she has no idea what happened! 

Cassie is unlikeable for several reasons: she is a very promiscuous alcoholic who often blacks out.  She really lives up the flight attendant lifestyle! 

Unreliable narrator stories are hit or miss for me, but The Flight Attendant was a hit!  I was drawn into the story from the beginning and never lost my interest in it.  We also have multiple narrators, and you know those are some of my favorite kinds of novels!  Despite not liking her, I really wanted to know what was going to happen to Cassie!  There was even a moment that happened that I was not expecting and my mouth dropped as I was listening to the novel while I was washing dishes.  Then we had the Epilogue, which was a great ending!  I will be reading Chris Bohjalian again! 

The Flight Attendant is recommended.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

The Other Woman by Sandie Jones

Author: Sandie Jones
Published: August 21, 2018
304 Pages/Audiobook

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: August 13-23, 2018
Jessica’s Rating: 3 stars

Book Description:

Emily thinks Adam’s perfect; the man she thought she’d never meet. But lurking in the shadows is a rival; a woman who shares a deep bond with the man she loves.

Emily chose Adam, but she didn’t choose his mother Pammie. There’s nothing a mother wouldn’t do for her son, and now Emily is about to find out just how far Pammie will go to get what she wants: Emily gone forever.

The Other Woman is an addictive, fast-paced psychological thriller about the destructive relationship between Emily, her boyfriend Adam, and his manipulative mother Pammie.

Jessica’s Review:

We have had an evil child this summer with Hanna (See my review for Baby Teeth) and now we have the evil future mother-in-law with Pammie!  I wonder what evil will be next….

I had one opinion of Pammie at the beginning of the novel and it changed throughout.  At first maybe it is Emily with the issue then Pammie does something and then you think,  “Oh yeah, she IS Evil!”  I did not really connect with Emily so, I did not really have empathy for her.  Some of the decisions she makes I couldn’t agree with, at times I found myself shaking my head as I listened to the audiobook.

Then we have that twist and ok, I was not expecting that!  I would love to see this story via Pammie’s perspective! 

Though not for me, maybe this one will be for you.

Thank you Minotaur books for my arc copy and St. Martin’s Press for my audio arc copy that I received at Mary Kay Andrews book launch for The High Tide Club.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]