Tag: women’s fiction

Blog Tour: The Dinner in the Sky

Today I share my review as a part of the blog tour for The Dinner in the Sky by Anne John-Ligali. This is the third in the Friendships Online series. I recently reviewed the first two in the series here.

Book Description:

After a shocking confrontation with an unexpected encounter, Constance tries to piece her life back together and is on a mission to finally move on.

The thought of having her friends near is comforting as they take time out of their busy online lives and meet up at their favourite place, A Cupful of Dreams Café. Everyone seems happy enough until cracks begin to show and all is not as good as it seems. Constance tries desperately to keep positive as there’s so much to look forward to: shopping for posh frocks, dinner at The Shard and a movie premiere.

As things start to look rosy, a few odd tweets begin to pop up from nowhere. At first, they seem innocent, but as the weeks go by and premier night draws near, not only do the tweets increase but they become more obnoxious.

By the time Constance and her chums arrive on the red carpet, she’s determined to work out who the troll could be and to keep them from spoiling her evening. However as Constance soon learns, the troll wants to destroy far more than that!

Breathtaking views of London. 

Posh frocks and Paparazzi

But there’s definitely trouble in the air…

Author: Anne John-Ligali
Published: May 31, 2019
363 Pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: May 25- June 1, 2019
Jessica’s Rating: 4 stars

The Dinner in the Sky is the third in the Friendships Online series. The first started as a short story, then the second graduated to a novella, and now we have a full length third novel to this series!  Each in the series builds on the previous so you really need to read the previous two to know exactly what is going on.

This is a series I have enjoyed and I l really like Constance.  I was rooting for her the whole time, especially when the novel went in an unexpected direction and became like a romantic comedy movie.  I really did enjoy the last 25% of the novel with the rushed urgency (Go Constance, GO!!!!).

Will Constance be able to pull her life together after the ending of The Weekend Spa Break and who will she choose: Maxwell or Julio? And who is this troll that is determined to ruin Constance’s life? We do get a conclusion to all of these questions and this is a complete story. 

The Friendships Online series is an enjoyable and quick read. You should read them concurrently to get the full effect. This series is recommended.

A Spotify Playlist for the series is here.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

About the Author:

Anne John-Ligali is a writer and found of Books and Authors UK, a website that features author interviews, cover reveals, blog posts, features and reviews. She loves all things books, going to book events and meeting other book worms. She has written her first series and is currently writing her first novel. 

When Anne is not writing she is likely to be playing with her kids, going for walks in the park, watching Netflix or thinking up more stories.  Originally from Peterborough, Anne now lives in London. After moving to London she studies graphic design at the University of Arts and held a number of IT jobs in the city. Anne continues to write romantic comedies, women’s fiction, and has the desire to write a non-fiction book and a few children’s books. 

Contact Anne:
Website
Twitter @AnneJohnLigali
Instagram

 

Anne’s Book Blog Links: Books and Authors UK
Website
Twitter @BooksNAuthorsUK

 

The Dream Daughter

Author: Diane Chamberlain
Published: October 2, 2018
Audio Download

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: January 3-11, 2019
Jessica’s Rating: 5 stars

Book Description:

When Caroline Sears receives the news that her unborn baby girl has a heart defect, she is devastated. It is 1970 and there seems to be little that can be done. But her brother-in-law, a physicist, tells her that perhaps there is. Hunter appeared in their lives just a few years before—and his appearance was as mysterious as his past. With no family, no friends, and a background shrouded in secrets, Hunter embraced the Sears family and never looked back.

Now, Hunter is telling her that something can be done about her baby’s heart. Something that will shatter every preconceived notion that Caroline has. Something that will require a kind of strength and courage that Caroline never knew existed. Something that will mean a mind-bending leap of faith on Caroline’s part.

And all for the love of her unborn child.

A rich, genre-spanning, breathtaking novel about one mother’s quest to save her child, unite her family, and believe in the unbelievable. Diane Chamberlain pushes the boundaries of faith and science to deliver a novel that you will never forget.

Jessica’s Review:

I can now say this: The Dream Daughter is my favorite book EVER!  Whenever I am asked about my favorite book, I can’t give an answer other than mentioning the book that got me reading again so long ago.  The Dream Daughter has taken its place and is perfection for me! This was the first book by Chamberlain I have read and it will not be my last.

The advice I can offer up to you is this: Read the book description, but other than that go into this book knowing nothing.  After finishing it, even reviews give away the angle this novel goes, which I will NOT do. Due to the angle the novel moves, this one is different from other Diane Chamberlain books.  All I will say is that there is a sci-fi angle. I listened to the audiobook version and I was skeptical about the novel when it got to the point where you realize the direction the novel was going, but then you are taken for a roller coaster of a ride!  In fact I am still thinking about the novel a few days after finishing it!  My mind was truly blown in a very good way!

Though a few parts were predictable for me, I still loved every bit of The Dream Daughter. I did not know how it was ultimately going to end and then we have that last line: SO powerful!  I am not a mother, but this is a novel for mothers: it shows the unconditional love that a mother has and that Caroline (Carly) will do whatever it takes to save her child.

The narrator, Susan Bennett, captured Carly’s voice perfectly. She conveyed all the emotions needed.

Again, I can say that this is my favorite book ever, so needless to say it will be my number one read of 2019.  Thank you so much to St Martin’s Press and Macmillan Audio for sending me a copy to review.

The Dream Daughter is very highly recommended!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

Blog Tour: I Give You My Heart

Today I am on the blog tour for I Give You My Heart by SarahJane Ford. I share my 5 star review with this one! This one reached me on a personal level.

Book Description:

A terminal diagnosis. A life-saving sacrifice. A love letter written on the walls of her heart.

Alice Richards looked forward to watching the seeds of love she and her husband planted bloom and grow well into their old age. But her plans for the future shrivel up and die when she learns she has an inoperable brain tumour.

Determined that she won’t die in vain, she decides to become an organ donor. With a few precious months left, Alice begins documenting her fairytale romance—from their first meeting to the children they dreamed of having. She’ll pass on every detail to her heart’s next owner… along with careful instructions to send her husband reminders of her undying love. Before her time runs out, Alice must find the perfect candidate to guide her husband through unimaginable grief and hold the memory of their love in her heart.

I Give You My Heart is an emotional romantic fiction novel with an uplifting message. If you like strong-willed women, undying love stories, and honest portrayals of coping with a terminal illness, then you’ll love SarahJane Ford’s heart-warming epic.

An unmissable love story full of warmth, beauty and with a huge, beating heart. Perfect for fans of Cecilia Ahern’s ‘P.S. I Love You’ and Jojo Moyes’ ‘Me Before You’.

Author: SarahJane Ford
Published: September 1, 2018
314 pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: August 2- August 11, 2018
Jessica’s Rating: 5 stars

Jessica’s Review:

I Give You My Heart  is a very touching read.  Alice is just 26 years old and she finds out she has an inoperable brain tumor with very little time left.  She decides against treatment and wants to be an organ donor.  BUT she doesn’t want her heart to go to a random person. She wants the person selected because her heart is precious to her.  Her heart belongs to her husband Alex, and she wants her best friend Ryan to find the perfect recipient for her heart.  She feels her heart will always love Alex and whoever receives it will be a part of Alex’s life.  Given the importance of her heart, Alice writes a manual to the person who will soon receive it.

The chapters alternate between Alice’s life and the manual she is writing to the recipient. In the manual she also shares about her life with Alex and gives directions she hopes the recipient will one day follow.

Do not let the summary keep you from reading this novel. Yes this is a sad subject, but handled in a positive way. I am very emotional and thought I would cry as I read it, but I did not; though I did come close at the end of the novel. It is uplifting as Alice writes her manual and lives with the decisions she has made.

I Give You My Heart will make you think about the end of your life.  Do you have plans to be an organ donor? If you have not thought about that, once you read this novel, you will want to become one.

Though this novel could not actually happen (with choosing who your heart goes to) Ford gets her point across in a very positive way.  Organ donation is vitally important. I personally know someone who was granted an organ (not the heart) and is still alive today thanks to organ donation. I thought of her as I read this novel!  <3

Purchase Links:
Amazon US

Amazon UK

About the Author:

SarahJane is the debut author of ‘I Give You My Heart’ which is due to be published on September 1st 2018.

SarahJane was born in Scotland but grew up in the Cheshire countryside, which is home to her. After a few years living in Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire, where she went to secondary school, she has now settled back in Cheshire in a quirky flat surrounded by trees, birds and rolling fields.

A marketing professional since finishing her formal education SarahJane is delighted to be following her writing dream. She still works part-time as a Marketing Manager, whilst furiously penning her second novel.

Harbouring an adventurous spirit, SarahJane loves to travel, be surrounded by the wilderness or be riding Cornish waves.

SarahJane loves to read (ideally by the sea!). She was raised on the greatest love stories, which is where her romantic soul comes from. She is in love with love…Mr Darcy’s brooding looks in Pride and Prejudice; Julia Roberts and Richard Gere’s arresting chemistry in Runaway Bride; the intensely emotional Titanic; going weak at the knees for Danny Zuko in Grease; Cecilia Ahern’s heartbreaking P.S. I Love You and Patrick Swayze’s mega moves in Dirty Dancing. 

Contact SarahJane:
website

[Top]