Tag: YA

Angry Young Men

Angry Young Men
Author: Chris Lynch

Published: February 8, 2011
181 Pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 3 stars

Book Description:

Alexander, who wants to be called Xan, is a misfit. He has never fit in—not in academics, sports, or social life. He’s an awkward loner who hasn’t been able to find his place in the world.

Robert is Xan’s half-brother, and unlike Xan, Robert seems to have his life together. At eighteen, he’s enrolled in community college with a decent job and a great girlfriend. Robert often teases his brother, but he’s also his biggest supporter. No matter what, he’s got Xan’s back.

When Robert starts to suspect that Xan is traveling down a dangerous path, he may be the only one who can save Xan from self-destructing—before it’s too late. But can Robert save himself?

This edgy exploration of what goes on in the mind of someone pushed to the brink examines the seeds of extremism that exist in everyone—and is sure to captivate readers of all kinds

Kim’s Review:

This is more about character development than anything else. Normally, I’m not so hot at those; this book, I got all involved in. I liked Xan and Robert. They seemed realistic and relatable. There’s not tons to say to such a simple story except I liked getting to know the boys, but the stakes weren’t high enough to make the ending as satisfying as it could have been. This is a short and simple story that’s high in moral conflict and emotions . . . I don’t want to say much more, cuz spoilers. I do recommend it, just with managed expectations.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

Love, Creekwood by Becky Albertalli

Love, Creekwood
Series: Simonverse
Author: Becky Albertalli
Published: June 30, 2020

Audiobook

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: August 7-10, 2020
Jessica’s Rating: 5 stars     

Book Description:

Fall in love all over again with the characters from the bestselling Simonverse novels in this highly anticipated epilogue novella. Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli, the movie Love, Simon, and the new Hulu series spin-off, Love, Victor!

It’s been more than a year since Simon and Blue turned their anonymous online flirtation into an IRL relationship, and just a few months since Abby and Leah’s unforgettable night at senior prom.

Now the Creekwood High crew are first years at different colleges, navigating friendship and romance the way their story began—on email.

Jessica’s Review:

I 1000% adore Simon and this series of books by Becky Albertalli:

Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda
The Upside of Unrequited
Leah on the Offbeat

Now we have the ‘book-end’ novella: Love, Creekwood that Albertalli wrote for the fans, and it truly is for the fans of the series. 

Love, Creekwood is a 127 page novella that we did not need, but really wanted!  It follows where the others in the series leave off as our gang are in their first year of college, some together and some not.  And they all communicate by email! It was different that in this time and age that was their method of communication, but the reason why is also addressed with one sentence for those curious.   This novella is made up of solely the emails to each other, so I was missing the ‘in person/real life’ interactions between our cast of characters.

I still adore Simon to the end, despite his extreme missing of Blue. But what would college life be like if you were far away from your boyfriend? Of course you would be dramatically pining away for him too. I’m still not a big fan of Leah, but I do adore Abby. 

I listened to the audio book version and all of our previous narrators are back!  Michael Crouch IS the voice of Simon for me!  I will be listening to more of the books he narrates.  And my favorite narrator Bahni Turpin voices Abby. Pretty much anything she narrates I will listen to. And as mentioned before, I adored the film version of Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda, called Love, Simon.

I think this will be the last we see of the Creekwood gang, and I will miss them, but I enjoyed going back into their world and seeing what happened next for them: College.  Many thanks to Albertalli for writing this final book-end for those who it mattered: The fans of the series!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

Burn Our Bodies Down

Burn Our Bodies Down
Author: Rory Power

Published: July 7, 2020
352 Pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 3 stars

Book Description:

Ever since Margot was born, it’s been just her and her mother. No answers to Margot’s questions about what came before. No history to hold on to. No relative to speak of. Just the two of them, stuck in their run-down apartment, struggling to get along.

But that’s not enough for Margot. She wants family. She wants a past. And she just found the key she needs to get it: A photograph, pointing her to a town called Phalene. Pointing her home. Only, when Margot gets there, it’s not what she bargained for.

Margot’s mother left for a reason. But was it to hide her past? Or was it to protect Margot from what’s still there?

The only thing Margot knows for sure is there’s poison in their family tree, and their roots are dug so deeply into Phalene that now that she’s there, she might never escape.

Kim’s Review:

I loved Wilder Girls. This one, not so much. While a lot seemed to happen, I felt like I couldn’t get into it. I kept getting distracted by everything else that was happening around me. I didn’t feel very connected to Margot. I really didn’t like her mom. I get that the emotions were supposed to be high and strained, but I felt uncomfortable and exhausted after reading one conversation between Margot and her mom. Normally I like all those raging feelings, but in this case, it wasn’t pleasant at all. While the mystery of the Nielsen family was kinda intriguing, I didn’t like that I didn’t learn really anything until the very end. Normally a mystery will give you little bits as you go along, but this one didn’t. I did guess a part of the resolution, but even then, the ending wasn’t very satisfying. I liked how most of the plot was tied up and explained, it just felt like such a struggle to get there!

I think I would only recommend this book to certain people, but unfortunately, I can’t really recommend it to the general public. I wanted so badly to love this book, I just didn’t.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]