Month: December 2021

Book Review: Diary of an Adorable Fat Girl at Christmas by Bernice Bloom

Diary of an Adorable Fat Girl at Christmas
Series: Adorable Fat Girl #4
Author: Bernice Bloom

Published: November 5, 2016
Audiobook

Reviewed By: Jessica
Date Read: December 17, 2021
Jessica’s Rating: 3 stars

Book Description:

Hooray It’s Christmas! It’s the Adorable Fat Girl’s favourite time of year and she embraces it with the sort of thrill and excitement normally reserved for toddlers seeing jelly tots. Our funny, gorgeous and bonkers heroine finds herself dancing from party to party, covered in tinsel, decorating the Beckhams’ Christmas tree, dressing up as Father Christmas, declaring live on This Morning that she’s a drug addict and enjoying two Christmas lunches in quick succession. She’s the party queen as she stumbles wildly from disaster to disaster. A funny little treasure to see you smiling through the festive period.

Jessica’s Review:

The Adorable Fat Girl series is a series of about 14 short novellas with more coming!  These books can be read as the series progresses or as standalone novels.  Our ‘Adorable Fat Girl’ is Mary Brown who is a Bridget Jones type character who is actually overweight and has all kinds of crazy chaos ensues (some her fault, some not!)

This is the fourth in the series, and sadly this one just did not really work for me.  It seems to be missing the ‘magic’ that the others I have read in this series have.  Maybe it was because this is an earlier novel in the series and Bloom was still figuring Mary out?  I enjoyed the section that dealt with the Beckham’s and their Christmas tree, but the rest of the novel just did not really appeal to me. 

Will this stop me from reading more of this series?? Absolutely not!  There is a new one coming out on Christmas Eve called Marvellous Mary Brown gets a Christmas Puppy: Chaos, Mayhem and Madness that I look forward to reading!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK 

 

Coming in 2022: The ABC Challenge!

2021 had #Diverseathon and 2022 will bring something different, which is why I am telling you about it now: I will be doing an ABC Challenge!

If you are a heavy reader as I am, then you amass books from a variety of ways and those stacks are very out of hand!  So for 2022, I will be reading ‘physical’ books that I actually own and in one case borrowed. I will be reading the selected books via the alphabet with the first letter of the particular book corresponding with the letter. As I was planning this, I did come to realize that there are two letters that I don’t have books for, so for those I decided to find a book that had the letter in the title.

I will also be reading one book each that starts with The and This– the decision for those books will come from the followers of Jessica’s Reading Room on Facebook and Instagram

**Now, this is just physical books, not any from my kindle.  I have not set a goal on when I will complete this. It could be in 2022 or 2023.  The reason is this- I will not be sticking to solely reading books for the ABC challenge. I will finish this when I finish this. 

The books could change, but as of now this is my plan of books to read for the ABC challenge:

A: An American Marriage-Tayari Jones
B: Brahmahatya- Rajiv Mittal
C: Can You Keep A Secret?- Sophie Kinsella
D: Distress Signals- Catherine Ryan Howard
E: Everything You Want Me to Be- Mindy Mejia
F: Fierce Kingdom- Gin Phillips
G: Good Me Bad Me- Ali Land
H: How to Save a Life- Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke
I: It Happens All the Time- Amy Hatvany
J: Juliet- Anne Fortier
K: Keeping the Beat- Marie Powell and Jeff Norton
L: Love, Alice- Barbara Davis
M: Monster- Walter Dean Myers
N: November 9- Colleen Hoover
O: Outlander – Diana Gabaldon (borrowed from my Mother-in-Law)
P: Pay It Forward- Catherine Ryan Hyde
Q: The Queen’s Gambit- Walter Tevis
R: Rewind- Catherine Ryan Howard
S: Saving Meghan- D.J. Palmer
T: Thirteen- Steve Cavanagh
U: Under the Blood Red Sun- Graham Salisbury
V: Vox- Christina Dalcher
W: Wicked Women of the Bible- Ann Spangler
X: My EX Life- Stephen McCauley
Y: Your Heart Belongs to Me- Dean Koontz
Z- Zoo/ Zoo 2

To be decided by JRR likers from Facebook and Instagram:
The
This

**I will narrow the choice to 3 books for them to choose from**

 I just want to get my pile of books that need to be read somewhat smaller and this seemed like a good start for me!  Do you think you might take part in this challenge?  Let me know if so and how you do!!!  And what do you think of my list????

[Top]

Book Review: The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley

The Hunting Party
Author:  Lucy Foley

Published: January 24, 2019
Audiobook

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: November 29- December 3, 2021
Jessica’s Rating: 3 stars

Book Description:

Everyone’s invited…everyone’s a suspect…

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

Jessica’s Review:

The Hunting Party is a possibly intriguing novel that did not quite deliver for me.   This type of novel has been written many times before, and I have read several like this, so the over-used trope did not bother me as I love a good thriller.  The downfall for me was that I was just not attached to any of the characters, so I did not care who was murdered.

I did like that as the reader we have to find out who both the victim and killer are: That was not expected!  Once the victim was known, I figured out who the killer was, but not why.  And the why did not work for me.  This would be a novel where if you enjoyed it you would have to read it again to fully comprehend everything that happened. But since this one was only ok read for me, I will choose to pass on a re-read, or re-listen to in my case. 

I listened to the audiobook version and it was a cast narration!  This definitely helped with listening to the novel, and one of the narrators is one of my favorites: Imogene Church!

Overall, this one was not for me, but it could be for you!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK 

 

[Top]