Category: Blog Tour

Blog Tour: London Hat Hunting Mission

Today I am one of the stops on the blog tour for London Hat Hunting Mission by Winnie Mak Tselikas! This was a fun children’s book which I also learned from! There is also a giveaway going on for those in the UK.

Book Description:

Four little Londoners, Hope, Jun, Lea and Parth, come from a different cultural background, are good friends living in London. They are travelling to the iconic places around the city in search of magic hats to cure Mr Globe’s headache.

The book is illustrated with a mix of real life photographs of iconic places in London and digital illustration so children can have a vivid visual experience of London and at the same time open up their world of imagination.

London Hat Hunting Mission
Author:
Winnie Mak Tselikas
Published: November 18th, 2017
36 pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Date Read: May 20, 2018
Jessica’s Rating: 5 stars

Jessica’s Review:

London Hat Hunting Mission is a fun and charming learning experience for children and adults! Being an American I don’t know anything about London and I had no idea of the extreme diversity that is in the city! This book was an enjoyable learning experience for me!

Our main characters are dolls of different ethnic backgrounds. They are Hope, Jun, Lea, and Parth and they end up going on a journey to help their friend Mr. Globe feel better. They are real dolls and the pictures of the dolls show them going all over London and along the way they learn a lot, including some words in foreign languages!

This is a great learning tool in so many ways: Learning about diversity in the ethnicities and cultures that represent London. We also get to go on a trip around London and there is even a ‘Hat Hunt Map’ showing where the dolls went.  I liked how there is a difference in the font to emphasize the learning aspect of where the dolls go and what the reader will learn.

I don’t have children but I highly enjoyed this children’s book. I would love to see where the dolls go next!

See Winnie Mak Tselikas and the adorable dolls:

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

About the Author:

Winnie Mak Tselikas is a believer in diversity. Born and raised in Hong Kong, she studied engineering, worked in commercial sales and in 2011 switched to education upon moving to London. There, she met her half-French, half-Greek husband and they had a son, who now has family in China, France, Greece, HK, the UK and the US. Winnie considers her son to be a world citizen rather than of a particular nationality or culture. Inspired by her family and London’s diversity, she founded One Dear World and created the lovely adventures of Mr. Globe and the little Londoner dolls.

Contact Winnie:
Website: One Dear World
Facebook
Twitter @onedearworld
Instagram @onedearworld

It’s time for a Giveaway!! Win a hard cover book and one doll of the winner’s choice (UK only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Terms and Conditions – Please enter using the Rafflecopter box.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data.  I am not responsible for dispatch or delivery of the prize.

Blog Tour: Decide to Hope @juneaconverse @rararesources

Today I am one of the stops on the blog tour for an author who is local to me: June A. Converse!  Decide to Hope is her first novel and she lives in Sandy Springs, Georgia. I had no idea when I signed up for the tour that she is local to me. I am all about sharing the book love, especially when the author is a fellow Georgian!!

Georgia on my Mind!


Decide to Hope

Published: May 11, 2018
332 pages

Buy Now on Amazon:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

Book Description:

An unimaginable trauma. A future that seems impossible. When your world shatters, how do you put it back together?

For 950 days, Kathleen Conners has struggled with that choice. Behind a scarf and sunglasses, she hides from the world, from herself, from The Event, from any future with anyone.

After receiving a box of letters from his deceased mother, Matt Nelson is shoved from his predictable, controlled life to a secluded beach in North Carolina. While trying to understand his mother’s intent, he discovers Kathleen.

Matt must choose whether to follow the path his mother orchestrated or rescue the woman who has captured his heart. When the only person Kathleen blames more than herself reappears, can Matt be the strength Kathleen needs to create a new life, or will he be forced to walk away if she decides the climb is too great?

About the Author:

June happily resides in Sandy Springs, Georgia, with her husband, Dave, and their dog, Sodapop.  They have two wonderful adult children and two grandchildren.  She is an enthusiastic exerciser and an accomplished cook.  She and her husband enjoy hiking with Sodapop, traveling, scuba diving, trying new restaurants, concerts, and whatever other adventures they can find.  Reading and a constant desire to learn keeps her busy too.

A trauma survivor who struggles with mental illness, June is continuously reaching for hope like the characters in her books.  She openly discusses her personal struggles on her blog.

Decide to Hope is her first novel and relies a great deal on her own experience with trauma, choices, recovery and hope.  If you’d like to discuss trauma, coping and recovery, contact her at JuneConverse.com or DecideToHope.com

Contact June:
Website/Blog
Twitter @juneaconverse
Facebook:

 

 

[Top]

Blog Tour: The Things We Need to Say

TODAY is publication day for The Things We Need to Say by Rachel Burton!!
This one is perfect for fans of Katie Marsh, Amanda Prowse and Sheila O’Flanagan!!

384 pages
Publication Date:
Today: May 11, 2018
Book Description:

Sometimes the things we never say are the most important.

Fran loves Will with all her heart. They had a whirlwind romance, a perfect marriage and a wonderful life. Until everything changed. Now Fran needs to find her way again and teaching a yoga retreat in Spain offers her just that. Leaving behind a broken marriage she has some very important decisions to make.

Will needs his wife, he needs her to open up to him if they’re to ever return to the ways things once were. But he may have damaged any possibility he had of mending their relationship and now Fran is in Spain and Will is alone.

As both Fran and Will begin to let go of a life that could have been, fate may just find a way of bringing them back together.

Buy The Things We Need to Say NOW:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

 Praise for The Things We Need to Say

‘Utterly spectacular. For me, The Things we Need to Say is a real-life love story and one that will stay with me for a long time.’ Laurie Ellingham, author of One Endless Summer

The Things We Need to Say is a wonderfully well-written novel which covers the issues of infertility, infidelity and temptation in a heart-wrenchingly honest way.’ Victoria Cooke, author of The Holiday Cruise

‘If you love novels that have warmth, charm and heart I strongly recommend that you read this poignant and uplifting book.’ Kerry Postle, author of The Artist’s Muse

About the Author:

Rachel Burton has been making up stories since she first learned to talk. After many false starts she finally made one up that was worth writing down.

After graduating with a degree in Classics and another in English, she didn’t really know what to do when she grew up. She has worked as a waitress, a paralegal and a yoga teacher.

She has spent most of her life between Cambridge and London but now lives in Leeds with her boyfriend and three cats. The main loves of her life are The Beatles and very tall romantic heroes.

Her debut, The Many Colours of Us, was an Amazon Kindle bestseller. Her second novel, The Things We Need to to Say, is released on 11 May 2018. She is currently working on her third novel in which the heroine follows the love of her life to live in a city in northern England. It has no autobiographical elements at all…..maybe.

Find her on Twitter & Instagram as @bookish_yogi or search Facebook for Rachel Burton Author. She is always happy to talk books, writing, music, cats and how the weather in Yorkshire is rubbish. She is mostly dreaming of her next holiday….

Contact Rachel:
Facebook
Twitter @bookish_yogi
Instagram @bookish_yogi

[Top]