Category: Site News

Perfect Imperfections is Currently FREE for Kindle on ALL Amazon Sites!!!

If you have followed this site for any amount of time, then you know I have mentioned Perfect Imperfections by Taryn Leigh several times and for a few days it is FREE for Amazon Kindle on ALL Amazon sites!!

It was one of my top 10 reads last year. It has a lot of personal meaning to many people for different reasons, myself included. If you have been meaning to get your copy- you can NOW!!!

Book Description:

Sarah Lewis desires nothing more than to begin again after a failed marriage and a tragedy so terrifying, it forces her to leave her life in London to stay with her best friend a world apart in South Africa.

Despite immediate success in her business, she struggles to understand who she really is and where she belongs in the world. So begins a journey of discovery as Sarah re-unites with Katy in the land where she was born, where the air is lavender scented, and weekends are spent cycling on the beach.

Until the day when she has to return to London to face the ghosts of her past and confront a situation that has grown more complicated in her absence.

Perfect Imperfections is an intriguing tale which hints at wrongdoings and deceit without giving too much away. The author cleverly weaves a tale around fragile yet strong Sarah as she tries to reconcile her past with her future, engaging the reader to the point where we simply want the best for her and for happiness finally to come her way.

This giraffe has significance in Perfect Imperfections AND for me as well!  What is it? You must read Perfect Imperfections to find out!

My review for Perfect Imperfections is here.

I also interviewed Taryn here.

**I am looking  forward to what Taryn brings us next!!!

Buy Perfect Imperfections NOW! Remember it is Currently FREE for Kindle!! 
Amazon US

Amazon UK

Contact Taryn:
Twitter: tarynleighbook
Instagram: @tarynleighbooks

 

 

An Excerpt from Girl Gone Ghost by Dawn Husted

Today I am helping spread the word about a new release from Dawn Husted: Girl Gone Ghost! I will be sharing an excerpt from Chapter One. Publication Day was July 9th.

For fans of We Were Liars and Pretty Little Liars comes this standalone novel. If you like gripping suspense, sizzling chemistry, and dark secrets, then you’ll love Dawn Husted’s new release, Girl Gone Ghost, available now!

Book Description:

A cheerleader with a reputation. A ghost who wants justice. Two lives bound together until the killer is found.

Sonora’s popularity means more to her than a new Michael Kors purse. With Fall Fling around the corner, she’s on the lookout for the perfect gown. But a ghost has different plans.

When her best friend’s body floats ashore, Sonora is haunted by the corpse-like spirit.  The incessant ghost refuses to leave Sonora alone. She must risk death and sanity to find her friend’s killer. If Sonora isn’t careful, she’ll be the next victim.

Girl Gone Ghost is a standalone novel. If you like gripping suspense, sizzling chemistry, and dark secrets, then you’ll love Dawn Husted’s mystery, thriller romance.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK


Excerpt from Chapter One:Yes, Brenham—a town in the birthplace of Texas—had a serial killer. My best friend’s body was discovered nine weeks ago.

Holding Magnolia’s obituary in my hand, I couldn’t peel my eyes away from her heart-shaped face. My eyes watered. The newspaper clipping encompassed her mesmerizing smile and all the years we spent growing up together. Why did she have to die? I kicked my shiny green pompoms into the corner of my room. One of my cheerleading medals fell off the bedroom wall, onto Kaylee’s fluffy black and white tail. My border collie growled and her back stiffened, hair raising along her spine.

“They’re only pompoms,” I muttered as I bent to pick up the medal. What’s the matter? The sea green ribbon attached to the medal had formed a perfect M on the carpet. Bending over, a chill wafted over my back and up my neck. The air conditioning hummed on above my head.

Kaylee showed her teeth at the corner. I waved my hand at her. “Stop it. Sit. What’s gotten into you?” I hung the gold medal back on the nail next to dozens of others. My fingers had crinkled the top edge of the clipping. Dang it.

I grabbed my copy of East of Eden off my desk and stuck the clipping between the pages to flatten it again—and put the obit away one last time. A familiar pang squeezed my chest, and I wiped a tear from my cheek with the back of my hand. I couldn’t focus on Magnolia anymore. I needed to let her go. She was gone and she wasn’t coming back. Opening my dresser drawer, I slid the novel inside. It rested beside my half of our friendship necklace, the same one I had removed two days after her death.

My phone buzzed with a text from my boyfriend, Chris Jenkins. Just pulled up.

In the reflection of the dresser mirror, an outline of our high school’s mascot stared at me with wide-eyes and a green, roaring mouth. I remembered the day Magnolia helped me place the cub sticker on the wall—the same day we made the cheerleading squad our freshman year, three years ago. Closing the drawer, I breathed the memory of Magnolia in and out for the last time.

The doorbell rang. I turned my light off and rushed out the bedroom to let Chris inside. We were having dinner tonight—like it was another normal Saturday night with my family.

Opening the front door, Chris walked in and winked. “Hey, babe.” His arms slid around my waist and squeezed. I laced my fingers through his. He smelled woodsy.


About the Author:

Dawn Husted grew up in central Texas, in Aggieland. She discovered her love of writing after graduating Texas A&M University. She enjoys writing urban fantasy, science fiction, romance, and paranormal suspense.

She lives with her wild husband, two kids, one stray cat, and an Australian shepherd.

Contact Dawn:
Website
Facebook
Twitter @TheDawnHusted
Newsletter Signup

 

 

[Top]

It’s Our Second ‘Blog-iversary’! We are TWO!

Today is a very big deal for Jessica’s Reading Room: We are TWO years old today!  It’s hard to believe that when I started this that I would still be doing it and having fun!  ALL my free time is dedicated to this: BUT as long as I enjoy it, that is what matters!  It’s all about the book love!!!! I started my blog for me first and it though may not be a blog with a huge following (which I am fine with ) I still do have people looking at what I do and this is great! It’s crazy to think that people actually read about what I have to say!

Kim has been a great co-reviewer and she has brought her own style to the site.  She does her monthly video summaries and occasionally other video reviews.  I like how we both read different genres, so we can cover a wider variety of books for you guys.  The “double reviews” can be great as you get usually two different opinions/viewpoints on the book read.

Here are the social media we are on:

Jessica’s Reading Room:
Twitter @JessReadingRoom

Facebook: It is a companion to this site and Kim and I use it as a way to get to know us more personally. If you have not given us a ‘like’ you should!

**Twitter is run by Jessica; Both Jessica and Kim post on the Facebook page. Jessica ends her posts with JPJ and Kim ends hers with KSF (When we remember… Sometimes we forget, we aren’t perfect!)

Jessica:
Instagram @jessica42980

Google+
Goodreads

Kim:
Instagram @booknerd_gymrat
Goodreads

**I want to give a special shout out to D. Harris of Partner of Ice. He redesigned the header for Jessica’s Reading Room. Everyone has seemed to love it!  Here are his links:
Facebook
Store site to purchase his work


Over the course of this month, Jessica’s Reading Room Facebook page has been doing some giveaways.  But today we have the big ones: We will be having 2 giveaways!  One for the US folks, the other for just the international folks!!

What can you win?????

US Giveaway:

A used Kindle Fire WITH a case!  Specs will be mentioned below.

This is a former demo model that my husband had. He used it for a while, but not anymore and we thought we would pass on to someone else!

Here are the specs on the Kindle Fire  (There is no manual as it was used when my husband got it):

Amazon Kindle Fire HD 6
8GB Tablet with WiFi
Quad-Core Processor up to 1.5 GHz
1280×800 high definition LCD Screen
6″ HD display

**Comes with leather case, SlimPort to HDMI cable for connecting to a TV (watch Amazon Prime video and play games on your TV!), USB cable, and charger.

You guys are in for some more goodies:

-An adult coloring book (from a Pagehabit box)
-A blue rider press tote bag
-A Pride and Prejudice headband (from an Owlcrate box)
-A small coffee, pumpkin,and chocolate candle (from an Owlcrate box). To me all I can smell is coffee,and I am not a coffee fan…
-A Mary Kay Andrews High Tide Club wine sippy cup
**Possibly more if I can fit anything else in the box!**


a Rafflecopter giveaway

The giveaway runs from today through 7/23 at midnight Eastern!

Ok International Folks: It’s your turn!

Your giveaway is simple, yet sweet! (You will love it if you are a bookworm, which you should be if you follow this site!)

You can enter to win up to $20 in books from the Book Depository! **Book Depository MUST deliver to your country for you to be eligible.  If you are not sure if they deliver to your country, check here.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The giveaway runs from today through 7/23 at midnight Eastern!


Thank so much to everyone who has supported Kim and I  through  this journey. Whether you have been here from the beginning or are just joining in on the fun!   Let’s hope we keep Jessica’s Reading Room going for many more years to come! Enter the giveaway and Good Luck !!

Now it is time to celebrate and have some cake:

 

 

[Top]