#Diverseathon2021: Brian’s Winter by Gary Paulsen (Brian’s Saga #3)

Brian’s Winter
Brian’s Saga #3

Author: Gary Paulsen
Narrator: Richard Thomas
Published:  March 11, 2008

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: May 12-14, 2021
Jessica’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

In Hatchet, 13-year-old Brian Robeson learned to survive alone in the Canadian wilderness, armed only with his hatchet. He was rescued at the end of the summer. Brian’s Winter begins where Hatchet might have ended: Brian is not rescued, but must build on his survival skills to face his deadliest enemy–a northern winter.

Jessica’s Review:

As a part of May’s prompt for #Diverseathon2021 I am continuing with book three Brian’s Winter in the Brian’s Saga series by Gary Paulsen.

Brian’s Winter continues the story of Hatchet, but asks the question what if Brian had not been rescued at the end?  Brian would have been forced to try and survive the harsh Canadian winter. This is the third in the series, I would read it after Hatchet because of the what if in the book. 

Much like Hatchet, Brian endures surviving in his environment just not in the harsh winter.  Towards the end of the novel there is a scene with wolves attacking a moose for food.  This is just animals surviving, but it could be considered somewhat graphic in the description for the younger or sensitive readers.  

Richard Thomas narrated Brian’s Winter.   He did a good job, but they still like the music to try and enhance the novel reading.

I enjoyed this ‘what if’ scenario of continuing survival.

For full details on this year long readathon, please click here.
And don’t forget about the awesome GRAND PRIZE at the end of the year. Click the link here for that information.

Beccie over at Bookies is having a giveaway for the month of May: She is giving away a copy of Deja Dead by Kathy Reichs (it is set in Canada). You can also enter this giveaway by entering through the Grand Prize link above.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK