Tag: First Line Friday

First Line Friday #98

Today’s First Line Friday is a short YA novel by Lucy V Hay. It is book one in the Intersection series. 

First, the line to show it worked. Then, a second one: faint, but very definitely there. Oh my God.

Pregnant.

‘I’d literally had to try my hardest at everything I’d ever done before now … Study like mad for tests? Check. Take three separate auditions for the netball team? Check. It had even taken me about twenty goes to climb the rope ladder into our old tree house! But this? First time: score!’

On the eve of her eighteenth birthday, Lizzie finds herself pregnant: she’s literally days away from her exam results and university beckons around the corner.

The bright Lizzie has big plans, but can she have the life she wanted, with a baby in tow? What will her family and friends say? And what will the baby’s father choose to do … Stay out of it, or stand by her?

Proof Positive is powerful, pro-choice YA that is perfect for fans of John Green, Judy Blume and Sarah Dessen. Book 1 in the Intersection Series, a teenage character is presented with a dilemma and then ALL the potential ways the situation *might* work out. You, the reader, have the final say … What would YOU choose, in Lizzie’s place?

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

First Line Friday #97

Today’s First Line Friday comes from an author I have enjoyed in the past and it has been several years since she has written anything.  God has had her on a journey and she shares her story here in her memoir, this week’s choice for First Line Friday:

When I was 22-years old, my world was turned upside down.

Note: If you’re already offended by the title, the book will likely offend you too.

Crossroads are an inevitable part of life. But how do you navigate them when your life is not your own?

At 22-years-old, Michelle Onuorah was a bestselling author, former runway model, and recent college graduate with the world at her fingertips…Or so she thought.

In a matter of weeks which turned into months…and eventually most of her twenties, the God of the universe systematically revealed that He was also the God of her life – and she was not. With breathtaking candor, razor sharp humor, and bold vulnerability, Michelle shares the ten key lessons she’s learned about God, life and understanding both in the midst of ceaseless transitions.

In her words, “This book is for those of you who believed with all your heart that you would end up in one place and somehow, despite following God – or maybe even because of it – ended up on a completely different path. This is for those of you who, though you love God, sometimes wonder who He even is. This is for those of you who choose to believe He’s still good.”

This book is for you.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

**I pre-ordered this memoir and it is a short one, at about 130 pages, therefore I am hoping to read this one soon!**

[Top]

First Line Friday #96

Today’s First Line Friday is one I read  last year.  It’s a fun one to read and the way it begins is what every single girl dreads receiving in the mail: A wedding invitation…

The small ivory card had landed on my doorstep that Saturday morning. It looked so innocent, nestled amongst a handful of late birthday cards, but in fact it had been a bomb more potent even than the massive credit card bill and summons for my annual dentist visit.

Is hunting down every man you’ve kissed the answer to finding Mr Right?

When Evie is invited to the wedding of the guy she’d fancied throughout her teens, it’s the final straw. What’s wrong with her and why can’t she keep a man?

In between consoling herself with ice cream and chocolate, and sobbing her heart out to her cousin Chamaine, Evie has a brainwave – and it all centres around her ‘little black book’ (well, more floral patterned notebook really) – which contains the details of every man she’s ever kissed or dated. Perhaps the cure for her disastrous love life has been nestled within its pages all along …

Does Evie’s little black book really hold the answers, or will she learn that exes are exes for a reason?


My review for Evie’s Little Black Book is here.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]