Tag: graphic novel

Graphic Novel Review: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde & The Body Snatcher

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde & The Body Snatcher
Author: Robert Louis Stevenson

Illustrator: Robert Smith
Published: May 1, 2016
160 Pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 5 stars

Book Description:

The dark tale of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson was first published in 1886. The novella went on to become one of the most well-known horror stories of all time and has been adapted for numerous film, TV and stage productions. Here it is retold in graphic format through Robert Smiths visually arresting illustrations.

Also included is the short story The Body Snatcher, a fictionalised account of the exploits of Mr Burke and Mr Hare, two real-life grave-robbers who operated in Edinburgh in 1828.

Kim’s Review:

Anyone who hasn’t read Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde needs to drop what they’re doing and go read it right now! It’s a classic tale of horror and the duality of man. Does a man have both angel and demon living within him? Do the actions of his inner demon define him? Obviously, the best is the original short story, but this graphic novel is a pretty good substitute. Normally I don’t like graphic novels, but I decided to give this one a try. I enjoyed it. The art is not Michelangelo by any means, but it’s engaging and colorful and conveys the plot nicely. The Body Snatcher story is also a good one and doesn’t take long. Both stories are creepy and perfect for a quick horror fix. Overall, this book is a good one for those who like graphic novel adaptations!

 

Graphic Novel Review: Son of Hitler

Son of Hitler
Authors:
Anthony Del Col
Geoff Moore
Illustrator: Jeff McComsey
Published: June 26, 2018
192 Pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

What if Adolf Hitler had a secret son no one knew about?

In the darkest days of World War II a female British spy handler discovers a rumor: that when Adolf Hitler was stationed in France during the First World War he fathered a child. Armed with stolen Nazi files, she secretly tracks down this son to recruit him for a mission to meet his biological father – and assassinate him.

But that may not be the end of the Hitler family saga…

A pulpy spy and alternative history thriller in the vein of Man in the High Castle, Zero Dark Thirty, Inglourious Basterds and the works of John Le Carre, this Image Comics graphic novel exploring one of the war’s greatest legends is by acclaimed writer Anthony Del Col (Assassin’s Creed, Kill Shakespeare), New York Times bestselling illustrator Jeff McComsey (FUBAR, Flutter) and newcomer Geoff Moore.

A story so wild it could only be true… maybe…

Kim’s Review:

To be fair, I’m not a big fan of graphic novels, and that’s really the only reason I’m giving this book 4 stars. The story and the artwork are excellent. Thankfully this “alternate history” falls closely in line with fact and not on its own ridiculous timeline. The characters are emotional and I found myself hoping that history did indeed have a different outcome. I really enjoyed this book and I wish it was available in novel form. I guarantee it would be 5 stars!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

The Way: Age of Darkness

Author: Cole Alexander Higgins
Published: August 13, 2019
170 Pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 3 stars

Book Description:

“Inside every world is another world, and inside of that is darkness and light.”

There exists a subconscious realm where emotions and thought can be found in their most vulnerable and raw state. It’s through this realm of not-quite-here and not-quite-there that accomplished animator and storyteller, Cole Alexander Higgins, will guide you in his new book The Way Volume 1: Age of Darkness.

This unique story is set in a distant, primitive world. A dark, malevolent force has spread across the land, turning brothers into enemies and men into monsters. Each image represents a window into the daily lives of this time and these people. These visions reveal how the people of a once great world fell into darkness, and what might be required for them to climb their way back to the light.

The Way Volume 1: Age of Darkness insightful story and striking imagery act as gateways to the subconscious—the area where our truest selves reside. Explore the depths of your own subconscious and the struggle between darkness and light. And perhaps discover your own path along the way.

Immerse yourself in The Way Volume 1: Age of Darkness and get ready to discover the worlds found within worlds…

Kim’s Review:

I was given a copy of The Way: Age of Darkness from Archangel Ink in exchange for an honest review. I was intrigued by the book the minute I picked it up, the cover and illustrations looked interesting. I will admit that I doubt I’m the best person to review this book simply because I’m not all that deep. There’s a lot implied and each person’s own self will greatly influence each individual reading. That sounds so hippie, but it’s true. Each page is literally one word and illustration. There was enough there to keep me interested in trying to form a story in my head.

As I said before, I’m not the most philosophically deep person, so I doubt I got what I was meant to. However, I enjoyed reading it for what it was and I would probably pick up Volume 2 when it’s released. Overall, a fascinating read.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]