Tag: Inspirational

The Gift by Richard Paul Evans

The Gift
Author: Richard Paul Evans
Published: October 9, 2007
Audiobook

Reviewed By: Jessica
Jessica’s Rating: 4 stars
Dates Read: December 1-5, 2019

Book Description:

A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box and Finding Noel from New York Times bestselling author Richard Paul Evans. Sure to be a classic, this new tale brings to life the joy of the season and demonstrates the redemptive power of love: there is no hurt so great that love cannot heal it.

Nathan Hurst hated Christmas. For the rest of the world it was a day of joy and celebration; for Nathan it was simply a reminder of the event that destroyed his childhood until a snowstorm, a cancelled flight, and an unexpected meeting with a young mother and her very special son would show him that Christmas is indeed the season of miracles.

From the beloved author of the international bestseller The Christmas Box comes another timeless story of faith, hope, and healing.

Jessica’s Review:

The Gift is a sweet story to be read at Christmas.  Nathan Hurst does not celebrate Christmas for very personal reasons.  Then one day his flight is delayed and he meets single mom Addison, her children Colin and Elizabeth and all of their lives are changed forever.

The Gift shows what happens when a very unique ability (with consequences) becomes a news story and life gets out of hand.  This story shows how greedy we can be as humans without regard for others.  On the flip side, this novel also shows how love can and will overcome the greed. 

If only more of us were like Colin, the world would be a better place.  This is a novel that will touch your heart and you may possibly shed a tear or two.  You will definitely feel better emotionally when you finish The Gift.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US  
Amazon UK

SMAFU

30363530

SMAFU: : Situation Married All F$” Up
Author: E.M. Bosso
281Pages in Kindle

Published: April 3, 2016
Dates Read: September 30- October 9, 2016

My Rating: 5 Stars

Book Summary from Amazon:

A sexy and humorous walk through life, as an elderly neighbor notices the impending end of a failing marriage and decides to step in and share her wisdom and life experience. If she can’t help save the marriage, perhaps she can at least soften the pain.

Whether you are looking for a feel-good novel to inspire you to explore your dreams; a novel to help you affirm that you are not alone; or something to help you sit down and open up a new line of communication with your significant other, SMAFU will change your life.

My Review:

I was lucky enough to receive a copy of SMAFU to read for review from THE Book Club (TBC) on Facebook. I am thankful for the opportunity as I enjoyed the book!

Steve and Mary have been married for seventeen years and their marriage is in trouble and has been for a long time. They move to a new house and meet Cherisse who changes their lives. Cherisse is 90+ years old and “tells it like it is”. She tells stories of her life along with parables to both Steve and Mary. As you learn things about Cherisse’s life, maybe a little more than you want to know, she tries to help save Steve and Mary’s marriage. Steve is the main character in SMAFU, and most of the book is from his perspective. Therefore, we get to see what marriage can be like from the male perspective, which we don’t get much in novels. We see his thoughts and mistakes he makes.

This book has lots of humor (my favorite was when Steve tries to grocery shop!), sarcasm, and it makes you think. I love Cherisse’s character! I wish there was someone like her in reality. She can really teach someone based on all her life experiences.

Will Steve and Mary save their marriage or is it destined to end as it was the beginning of the book? You will have to read to find out!

**Thank you again TBC for my copy of SMAFU

[Top]