Tag: novella

Blog Blitz: Blue Skies by Alana Oxford

As a part of the blog blitz, today I share my review for Blue Skies by Alana Oxford. I awarded this one 5 stars!

Book Description:

Life isn’t always a walk in the park, but when Patrice takes her Pomeranians to the park after a rough day at the office, fate steps in. An unlikely hero comes to the rescue when one of her dogs gets loose. Short, pale, and kind of cute, Seth doesn’t have a lot of confidence with the ladies, but he hits it off with Patrice.

But some things might be too good to be true. While Patrice wonders if Seth could possibly be “the one”, fate steps in again with a horrible twist. Will it be a deal breaker or just a storm before bright blue skies?

Blue Skies
Author:  Alana Oxford

Published:  August 29, 2020
100 Pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: October 6-8, 2020
Jessica’s Rating: 5 stars

Jessica’s Review:

This was a fun and quick read, and as you get closer to the end you find yourself reading faster to see what happens! 

This was a welcome break from the thrillers I read, and this year in general.  Blue Skies is a cute romcom novella, where at 100 pages you get a complete story.  As I was getting closer to the end I was not sure it was going to have everything summed up but we did.  

I adored both Patrice and Seth. You are rooting for those two to get together, but when you find out what the twist is… Wow….  It is definitely unexpected and makes you unsure of what is going to happen. 

Blue Skies deals with a relatable situation that anyone with multiple dogs could find themselves in while walking.  In fact, when I had the opportunity to join the blog tour, my sister had just had a similar run in that Patrice had at the park:  She has two dogs and one got loose and ran off.  My sister did not have a ‘unlikely hero’ come to her rescue, but a group of people helped her with her dogs.  Everyone is fine, but because of this story I just had to sign up for the blog tour!  I pictured my sister and her two dogs as Patrice and her Pomeranians  as I read the novella.  This definitely added to my enjoyment of the novella as I read it. Another coincidence is that I have an aunt named Patrice:  How about that!?!?!? 

This is my first read from Oxford and I hope to read more from her. 

This fun novella is definitely recommended in this year of chaos that 2020 has become.

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

About the Author:

Alana Oxford is a Michigan author of romcoms, sweet romance, and humorous women’s fiction. She wants her stories to bring sunshine and smiles to her readers. She enjoys improv comedy, moody music, everything book related, and has an ongoing love affair with the United Kingdom.

Contact Alana:
Twitter: @AlanaOxford
Instagram @AlanaOxford

Out Behind the Barn

Out Behind the Barn
Authors:
John Boden
Chad Lutzke
Published: September 27, 2018
125 Pages

Reviewed By: Kim
Kim’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

The boys crept to the window and watched as Miss Maggie carried the long bundle into the barn, the weight of it stooping her aging back. Rafter lights spilled from the barn doors and Davey saw an arm fall from the canvas-wrapped parcel. He smiled.

“She got someone!”

Both children grinned and settled in their beds, eyes fixed to the ceiling.

This was family growth.

Kim’s Review:

Chad Lutzke is easily becoming a favorite indie horror author! This book sounded interesting, so I got it and read it. It falls into the criminal psychology category with a little paranormal stuck in. I really liked it all the way until the end. The end felt too abrupt to me. I wanted more info on Miss Maggie and her background. I also wanted to see Maggie’s reaction  . . . which I can’t talk more about because I don’t want to spoil. The boys are innocent and seeing everything through their eyes gives extra emotion to the story. Not knowing what’s going on makes it all the more interesting. Overall, another good one from Chad! I can’t wait to read more of his stuff!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

Love, Creekwood by Becky Albertalli

Love, Creekwood
Series: Simonverse
Author: Becky Albertalli
Published: June 30, 2020

Audiobook

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: August 7-10, 2020
Jessica’s Rating: 5 stars     

Book Description:

Fall in love all over again with the characters from the bestselling Simonverse novels in this highly anticipated epilogue novella. Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli, the movie Love, Simon, and the new Hulu series spin-off, Love, Victor!

It’s been more than a year since Simon and Blue turned their anonymous online flirtation into an IRL relationship, and just a few months since Abby and Leah’s unforgettable night at senior prom.

Now the Creekwood High crew are first years at different colleges, navigating friendship and romance the way their story began—on email.

Jessica’s Review:

I 1000% adore Simon and this series of books by Becky Albertalli:

Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda
The Upside of Unrequited
Leah on the Offbeat

Now we have the ‘book-end’ novella: Love, Creekwood that Albertalli wrote for the fans, and it truly is for the fans of the series. 

Love, Creekwood is a 127 page novella that we did not need, but really wanted!  It follows where the others in the series leave off as our gang are in their first year of college, some together and some not.  And they all communicate by email! It was different that in this time and age that was their method of communication, but the reason why is also addressed with one sentence for those curious.   This novella is made up of solely the emails to each other, so I was missing the ‘in person/real life’ interactions between our cast of characters.

I still adore Simon to the end, despite his extreme missing of Blue. But what would college life be like if you were far away from your boyfriend? Of course you would be dramatically pining away for him too. I’m still not a big fan of Leah, but I do adore Abby. 

I listened to the audio book version and all of our previous narrators are back!  Michael Crouch IS the voice of Simon for me!  I will be listening to more of the books he narrates.  And my favorite narrator Bahni Turpin voices Abby. Pretty much anything she narrates I will listen to. And as mentioned before, I adored the film version of Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda, called Love, Simon.

I think this will be the last we see of the Creekwood gang, and I will miss them, but I enjoyed going back into their world and seeing what happened next for them: College.  Many thanks to Albertalli for writing this final book-end for those who it mattered: The fans of the series!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]