Tag: Sally Hepworth

Book Review: The Good Sister by Sally Hepworth

The Good Sister
Author: Sally Hepworth

Published: April 13, 2021 
309 Pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: May 26- June 4, 2021
Jessica’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

From the outside, everyone might think Fern and Rose are as close as twin sisters can be: Rose is the responsible one and Fern is the quirky one. But the sisters are devoted to one another and Rose has always been Fern’s protector from the time they were small.

Fern needed protecting because their mother was a true sociopath who hid her true nature from the world, and only Rose could see it. Fern always saw the good in everyone. Years ago, Fern did something very, very bad. And Rose has never told a soul. When Fern decides to help her sister achieve her heart’s desire of having a baby, Rose realizes with growing horror that Fern might make choices that can only have a terrible outcome. What Rose doesn’t realize is that Fern is growing more and more aware of the secrets Rose, herself, is keeping. And that their mother might have the last word after all.

Jessica’s Review:

This is the fourth novel I have read by Hepworth and I have enjoyed them all!  The Good Sister. is not a thriller per se, but more of a domestic drama. We have dual narrators, both Fern and Rose (via her journal).  The reader will have their opinions of both twin sisters– which can change throughout the novel– and of their mother.  Fern is on the Autism spectrum, but functions relatively well on her own and works in a library(!) which is many readers dream job.

The sisters are twins and 28 years old who could not be more different from each other– including their appearance– but they take care of each other. They had a very difficult childhood, which the novel goes into. There is a little bit of a romance with one of the sisters and if you read thrillers like I do, you may figure out what is going on.  But then what keeps you reading is the drama!  I enjoyed the drama in this case and still had some surprises along the way. 

If you like reading mysteries and enjoy drama dealing with family relationships (because who doesn’t have that!?!?) then you should read this book.

It looks like I have found another ‘go to’ author to read with Hepworth!

I received a copy to read and review from the publisher via NetGalley. 

Purchase Links:
Amazon US 
Amazon UK

Release Day Review: The Mother-In-Law


Author: Sally Hepworth
Published: TODAY, April 23, 2019
352 Pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: April 11-20, 2019
Jessica’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

Someone once told me that you have two families in your life – the one you are born into and the one you choose. Yes, you may get to choose your partner, but you don’t choose your mother-in-law. The cackling mercenaries of fate determine it all.

From the moment Lucy met Diana, she was kept at arm’s length. Diana is exquisitely polite, but Lucy knows, even after marrying Oliver, that they’ll never have the closeness she’d been hoping for.

But who could fault Diana? She was a pillar of the community, an advocate for social justice, the matriarch of a loving family. Lucy had wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law.

That was ten years ago. Now, Diana has been found dead, leaving a suicide note. But the autopsy reveals evidence of suffocation. And everyone in the family is hiding something…

Jessica’s Review:

We are pulled into this novel of mystery from the first line as we know something has happened: I am folding laundry at my dining room table when the police car pulls up.

The Mother-In-Law does have the mystery of what happened to Diana, but it is more of a women’s contemporary fiction book.  If you are looking for a psychological thriller, this is not it.

Both Diana and Lucy are our narrators and they go between the present and the past over a 10 year time period.  Diana and Lucy never really had a chance to get to know and like each other.  Their personalities just did not mesh. Diana is very guarded with ‘high walls’ that take effort to break down, and with good reasons. I actually liked Diana more than Lucy, as I understood Diana.

This book was a page turner with short chapters.  As the novel progresses, it really began moving and the chapters became even shorter.  The last quarter of the book really moves fast and I stayed up late to finish it.  I had made my decision as to who the guilty party was but I was wrong! Everyone has their secrets in this novel and finding out all these secrets is part of the pull of the novel. 

I am fortunate to get along with my mother-in-law, but not everyone has that. Do you get along with your mother-in-law?   If you don’t would you want to kill yours?  Did Lucy kill Diana? Did Diana kill herself or was it something else entirely?

The Mother-In-Law is recommended. I received a copy of The Mother-In-Law from St. Martin’s Press via a Goodreads giveaway. 

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

The Family Next Door

Author: Sally Hepworth
Published: March 6, 2018
252 pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: February 25- March 6, 2018
Jessica’s Rating: 5 stars

Book Description:

A gripping domestic page-turner full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Amanda Prowse and Kerry Fisher.

The small suburb of Pleasant Court lives up to its name. It’s the kind of place where everyone knows their neighbours, and children play in the street.

Isabelle Heatherington doesn’t fit into this picture of family paradise. Husbandless and childless, she soon catches the attention of three Pleasant Court mothers.

But Ange, Fran and Essie have their own secrets to hide. Like the reason behind Ange’s compulsion to control every aspect of her life. Or why Fran won’t let her sweet, gentle husband near her new baby. Or why, three years ago, Essie took her daughter to the park – and returned home without her.

As their obsession with their new neighbour grows, the secrets of these three women begin to spread – and they’ll soon find out that when you look at something too closely, you see things you never wanted to see.

Jessica’s Review:

If you enjoy novels with multiple points of view and short chapters, then The Family Next Door is for you!  We have five points of view from Ange, Fran, Essie, Barbara, and their mysterious new neighbor Isabelle.  Through them, we get to know the people of Pleasant Court… and their many secrets and betrayals.

Family  begins with Essie leaving her newborn in the park alone.  Then we fast forward three years. From this beginning you are pulled in and want to know what happens next.  Life is anything but ordinary and boring at Pleasant Court and everyone has secrets and lies.  You don’t know what will come next and you do not want to put it down!  If you liked the show Desperate Housewives then you will really enjoy this novel!

You don’t know what direction the secrets will take you on this journey and you will constantly wonder what is coming next.  The short chapters with alternating points of view keeps you saying, “Just one more chapter!” until it is way past your bedtime! Some of the secrets and realities are outlandish (like Desperate Housewives was) but still make your jaw drop.

Hepworth wrote Family while pregnant and edited it with her newborn, so naturally she was home a lot and found herself wondering what her neighbors were up to.  This is a novel that will leave you wondering who your neighbors really are and what are their secrets! Because you know they have them…. We all do….

The Family Next Door is highly recommended. Thank you to St. Martin’s Press for providing me an arc copy to read and review!

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]