Tag: women’s fiction

Blog Tour: The Book of Us by Andrea Michael

Today I am sharing my review as a part of the blog tour for The Book of Us by Andrea Michael. If you enjoy women’s fiction at all, then this is one you must read! It is also available now!

Book Description:

The Book of Us is a story of the complexity of forgiveness and the friendships that change our lives forever. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jojo Moyes and Diane Chamberlain.

We’ve got some important things to talk about. It’s time.

Cass and Loll used to be inseparable. They met at university and they made sense, like two halves of a whole. They had planned their lives around each other, writing down their dreams in The Big Book of Our Life – the things they wanted to achieve, the places they’d go after they finished university. But then one night changed everything.

Seven years later, Loll receives a letter from her old friend. The coming year will be the year they both turn 30, but Loll might be making it to 30 alone. Cass has cancer. Loll had believed she would have her whole life to come to terms with Cass’ betrayal, but time is running out. Cass’ final wish is to complete The Big Book of Our Life, but has enough time passed to heal old wounds?

The Book of Us
Author: Andrea Michael

Published: March 6, 2020
400 Pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: May 30-June 8, 2020
Jessica’s Rating: 4 stars

Jessica’s Review:

The Book of Us is a story of friendship, love, betrayal, the healing power of forgiveness and much more.  Cass and Loll met in college and became inseparable until something happened one night to throw the two apart.  Years later Loll finally hears from Cass and the news is not good: Cass is dying from cancer. This news brings the two former friends back together for a final adventure. When they were younger they created a ‘book of life’ which consists of things that they MUST do together.  Despite their issues and one big unexpected surprise we find out about early on which becomes a part of the journey, the two very differently flawed ladies come together to travel in several different countries working to finish their planned adventures in their shared ‘bucket list’.  Yes, they clash some due to the past and their personalities.  Will they be able to move on and enjoy the time that Cass has left? 

I enjoyed this novel.  The Book of Us is all about Cass and Loll, whose personalities are extremely different, but somehow became the best of friends in college. Despite the fallout and years apart the two ladies come together for this last adventure.  I also joined in on the journey with Cass and Loll and hoped they could mend broken fences before it was too late.   I have always wanted to go to Australia and was envious that they went there (despite the extremely long flight!)

You know where the ending of the novel is going to go, but it is not about the ending, it’s about the journey.

Come join Cass and Loll on their adventure together and see what happens! 

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK
Waterstones

About the Author:

Andrea Michael writes books to explore complicated relationships. Having trained in using writing for therapy, she really believes in the magic of stories to change your life. Failing that, sparkling wine and obnoxious sing-a-longs also do the trick.

Andrea works in content marketing, and runs Writing for Wellbeing workshops. She lives in Hertfordshire with her fiancé and their crazy cat, and can be found reading in a comfy corner or digging something at the allotment.

You may also know her from her romantic comedies written as AL Michael.

Andrea is represented by Hayley Steed at Madeleine Milburn. The Book of Us is her thirteenth book. She’s hoping it’s lucky.

Contact Andrea:
Twitter @almichael_
Instagram @andreamichaelwrites

 

The Year We Turned Forty by Liz Fenton & Lisa Steinke

The Year We Turned Forty
Authors:

Liz Fenton
Lisa Steinke
Published: April 26, 2016
319 Pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: May 2-8, 2020

Jessica’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

If you could repeat one year of your life, what would you do differently? This heartwarming and hilarious novel from the authors of The Status of All Things and Your Perfect Life features three best friends who get the chance to return to the year they turned forty—the year that altered all of their lives, in ways big and small—and also get the opportunity to change their future.

Jessie loves her son Lucas more than anything, but it tears her up inside that he was conceived in an affair that ended her marriage to a man she still loves, a man who just told her he’s getting remarried. This time around, she’s determined to bury the secret of Lucas’ paternity, and to repair the fissures that sent her wandering the first time.

Gabriela regrets that she wasted her most fertile years in hot pursuit of a publishing career. Yes, she’s one of the biggest authors in the world, but maybe what she really wanted to create was a family. With a chance to do it again, she’s focused on convincing her husband, Colin, to give her the baby she desires.

Claire is the only one who has made peace with her past: her twenty-two year old daughter, Emily, is finally on track after the turmoil of adolescence, and she’s recently gotten engaged, with the two carat diamond on her finger to prove it. But if she’s being honest, Claire still fantasizes about her own missed opportunities: a chance to bond with her mother before it was too late, and the possibility of preventing her daughter from years of anguish. Plus, there’s the man who got away—the man who may have been her one true love.

But it doesn’t take long for all three women to learn that re-living a life and making different decisions only leads to new problems and consequences—and that the mistakes they made may, in fact, have been the best choices of all…

Jessica’s Review:

I just had my big 40th birthday at the end of April and thought that this novel would be a good one to start my new decade of life, and it was!  The authors, Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke have been BFFs for many years and written quite a few novels together, but this is the first one of theirs I have read.

The Year We Turned Forty focuses on three ladies (Jessie, Gabriela, and Claire) who have been friends forever.  They have all just recently turned 50 and are given a special opportunity to go back ten years to the year they all turned 40 and re-live that year.  This was the year that changed everything for the ladies in different ways and they all have their reasons for wanting to go back.  But will going back in time and making different choices make life better or worse?  And what ultimate choice will they make?

This is a thought provoking and also very enjoyable novel.  Who hasn’t thought about if you could go back and change something?  If given the opportunity, would you actually do it and what happens to the rest of the world with changing just one decision????  One decision can change so much, and it might not actually be for the better. 

The Year We Turned Forty may have been my first novel by ‘Liz & Lisa’ but it will not be my last.  I will be reading them again! 

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]

Adorable Fat Girl in Lockdown by Bernice Bloom

Adorable Fat Girl in Lockdown
Author: Bernice Bloom

Published: May 9, 2020
109 Pages

Reviewed By: Jessica
Dates Read: May 9-11, 2020
Jessica’s Rating: 4 stars

Book Description:

Mary Brown is in lockdown. She’s worn nothing but pyjamas for weeks, and is living on a diet of cake and wine. She’s rarely up before midday and spends her time watching every box set that she can get her hands on. Then: she has an idea… instead of just eating the cake, why doesn’t she judge it? She should organise a World Cup of Cakes.

With Juan, her trusty sidekick, she sets up the competition with meticulous detail, and the whole thing goes viral. Featuring: home dyed hair, talking to potatoes, Piers Morgan, internet shopping, an amorous neighbour, an angry ex-boyfriend and birdwatching. Oh, and loads of cake.

Jessica’s Review:

Mary Brown, the Adorable Fat Girl is back!  This is a series of novels by Bernice Bloom and you can either read the books as standalone novels or read them in the order they were written.  I have read several of them and plan on reading more.  Mary is similar to Bridget Jones (both are even British!) but Mary is actually very overweight.  But she knows it and chooses to live her life the way she wants, and that involves eating! 

This time around Mary and Juan are in 2020 and currently experiencing living life in lockdown due to COVID-19.  She is just living life relaxing as much as she can: getting up midday, staying in pajamas, and eating cake!  All of a sudden she comes up with an idea to create the World Tournament of Cakes and to put it on You Tube. She takes it very seriously and then something unexpected happens: The competition goes viral and before Mary knows it, she and Juan are getting all sorts of attention! 

This is the sort of novella that we all need right now: Something fun to read that leaves you laughing out loud at times and experiencing other fun emotions.  The situations Mary finds herself in are really unexpected.

What cakes are in the World Tournament of Cakes, and ultimately which cake  wins? Will you agree with the winner? You will have to read and find out.

If you haven’t given Bloom’s Adorable Fat Girl series a try, do it!  You will not regret it.  We can all use a laugh right now. 

Purchase Links:
Amazon US
Amazon UK

[Top]